TSS: SKIPPING ALONG TOWARD SUMMER — MAY 27

Good morning!  Welcome to the last Sunday Salon of May.

With spring fully upon us and summer coming fast, what intriguing things do you have planned?

I know several people are headed to BEA in New York, but sadly, I’m not one of them.  I hope they’ll be having the Armchair BEA events around the blogosphere.

Anyone know what’s planned on that front?

I missed last week’s Sunday Salon….I had a killer abscessed tooth that pretty much kept me curled up in a ball until the antibiotics and pain pills kicked in.  I’ll be having oral surgery this week, but the pain is now manageable.  So I did more reading than the week before, but not as much blogging, other than a few memes.

My Friday Potpourri:  Tidbits from the Edge explored some thoughts and ramblings about life here; and in my Sweet Saturday Sample, I excerpted from Interior Designs (one of my WIPs).

Currently Reading:

I’ve made some progress with 11/22/63, by Stephen King, which I’ve been reading at nights mostly; I’m now on p. 633 (of 849).  I might finish it at last!

Finished:

The Witness, by Nora Roberts (Awesome!)

Another Piece of My Heart (e-book), by Jane Green

Objects of My Affection, by Jill Smolinski

***

Do you ever have the kind of reading week where the books all engage you fully?  Every one of them?  That’s what this week was like for me.  And each of these titles was different enough that I never felt as if I were reading the same story over and over.

And as for the Stephen King book….that one has so many intriguing twists and turns that I can’t wait to find out what happens next!

I’ll be reading that one some more today….What are your plans?

Oh…and in case I need a break from the book, I have a DVD of One for the Money sitting on a stack!

I saw this one TWICE at the theater, and now I want to watch it again….Happy Sunday!

14 thoughts on “TSS: SKIPPING ALONG TOWARD SUMMER — MAY 27

  1. I just got my copy of 11/22/63 yesterday, and boy is it intimidating! I think I might get to Storm of Swords first and then King. And weeks where all the books are just amazing are sweet!

    Like

    1. Oh, I know what you mean, Tanya…I’ve let mine sit on the office coffee table for months!

      But now that I’m into it, I can’t seem to put it down….

      Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy!

      Like

      1. Oh, definitely, Unfinished Person…I just finished it! And I only read it for awhile each night…until this weekend. Well worth it! Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy the rest of your weekend.

        Like

  2. loricaswell

    I am planning to take part in the Armchair BEA for the first time this year. Would love to go to the real one someday. Going to be in the 90’s here and really humid so will spend my day reading and watching the NASCAR race. c-u- tomorrow!!

    Like

  3. I read a sample of the King book on my Nook and it was really good. Eventually I will get the book and read the whole thing.

    BTW – the PDF format on Kindle works great for me. On my Nook it drives me crazy and it’s almost unreadable. Which is probably why I haven’t read many of the Netgalley books I requested. However, I just downloaded one to my Kindle for the first time and have had no problems at all.

    Have a great week!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the info, Yvonne…now I’m going to try it! And I hope you enjoy the King book. I actually started enjoying it even more once he started “traveling.”

      Glad you could stop by, and have a great weekend.

      Like

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about your tooth! I hope you feel better real soon! I can’t wait to hear what you think about 11/22/63. I’ve heard some mixed things about it, and I’m strongly considering reading it later on this year. I hope you have a great week!

    Like

  5. A reading week where all the books fully engage me would be amazing. It’s been a while. I hope your oral surgery goes well this week. I’m a bit late in catching up with Sunday Salon because I was away for a long weekend in London. It was lovely but I am now museumed out!

    Like

    1. Yes, Nose in a Book, I find those kinds of weeks rare; I treasure them.

      A weekend in London sounds fabulous! And I’m looking forward to AFTER the oral surgery and after the recovery, too.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  6. I can’t imagine reading more than one book and having them all be rather compelling. If a book grabs me, I tend to read it straight through. If have two books on the go, it is because one of them is too big to carry around or inappropriate for public reading. In that case, the second book is a nonfiction title like a cookbook or a gardening manual.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.