BOOKISH FRIDAY: “The Starter Wife”

Welcome to another Bookish Friday, in which we  share excerpts from books…and connect with other bloggers who do the same.

Let’s begin the celebration by sharing Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and let’s showcase The Friday 56 with My Head Is Full of Books.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Today’s feature is a book I just finished: The Starter Wife, by Rowen Chambers.

Book Beginning:

(Prologue):

Lauren

“Mrs. Bishop.”  An older man stands at the doorway of my hospital room.  “I’m Detective Myles, the investigator assigned to your case.  The nurse said you were up for answering a few questions?”

***

 

Friday 56:

“I’m not worried,” I say, and I’m not.

In fact, Audrey has no idea that the scenario she described is exactly what I’m hoping for.

***

Synopsis:

She was the perfect wife. Until he no longer needed her.

When Lauren met Steven, she was instantly drawn to his charm, sophistication, and drive to succeed. But soon after their wedding, the loving, affectionate man she fell in love with became cold and controlling.

Twelve years later, Lauren’s desperate to free herself from her husband. So when she finds herself bedridden after a car accident, she devises a plan to finally get him out of her life.

She hires a live-in nurse. Young, beautiful, and easily manipulated, Hannah couldn’t be more perfect. Just as Lauren predicted, Hannah instantly falls for Steven’s charm and allure, unaware that it’s all an act.

Hannah doesn’t know the real Steven. Nobody does. But they will soon.

It’s the perfect plan. Steven will finally get what he deserves and Lauren will have her freedom.

Except Steven has a plan too. One that’s much darker… and started the day he met her.

***

***

Would you keep reading?

***

 

10 thoughts on “BOOKISH FRIDAY: “The Starter Wife”

  1. Juli @ A Universe in Words

    Oh no, I’m already feeling sorry for poor Hannah! This sounds super intriguing though, so I’m going to add it to my TBR. I’m definitely in the mood for a thriller that’ll grip me! Thanks for sharing and I hope you have a lovely weekend 🙂

    Juli @ A Universe in Words

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.