WEEKLY UPDATES: NOVEMBER IS COZY!

Good morning! Today’s post will link up to The Sunday Salon, The Sunday Post and Stacking the Shelves, for weekly updates.

**Mailbox Monday is hosted at the home site: Mailbox Monday.

And let’s join Kathryn, our leader in It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?, at Book Date.

 

A week of cooler weather, ongoing birthday celebrations, and Halloween…kept me busy.  I knew I wouldn’t have any Trick or Treaters…as I haven’t had them for the past ten years that I have lived here.  Instead I curled up on my sofa to read and watch movies.

I thought I would finish my fourth book of the week, but decided to write this post about the THREE I did read and review, bringing my challenge total to ONE-HUNDRED!

Because we change our clocks back on Sunday, and because I removed the batteries on this wall of clocks…

I knew that I needed a desktop style clock that actually works…so I ordered this one from Amazon.  It should arrive by 8 p.m. tonight…maybe not in time for the changeover, since arrival times are unpredictable.

I know where I’m going to set it…on this bookshelf, which faces my sofa…between some of my fairytale trinkets….

Let’s check in and see what I did last week; here is my morning of coffee, TV, and books:

 

***

LAST WEEK ON THE BLOGS:

Rainy Day Excerpts:  “The Story of Arthur Truluv”

Tuesday Potpourri:  A Bookish Day…

An Amazing Week of Reading…

Let’s Curl up and Say Goodbye to October…

Coffee Chat:  The Holidays Are Coming!

Thursday Potpourri:  A Plethora of Celebrations…

Bookish Friday:  “Cold As Ice”

Review:  The Surrogate (e-book), by Louise JensenReview:  Y is for Yesterday (e-book), by Sue GraftonReview:  Unraveling Oliver (e-book), by Liz Nugent***

INCOMING BOOKS:  (Titles/Covers Linked to Amazon)

Nothing came in my physical mailbox…but I received one NetGalley review book...and then downloaded three purchases…

Paper Ghosts (e-book), by Julie Heaberlin (NG – 5/15/18)

A gripping thriller about a man who may or may not have dementia—and who may or may not be a serial killer—from a master of twists and turns, in the tradition of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn

***

Purchased Downloads:

Play It As It Lays (e-book), by Joan Didion

Even If It Kills Her (e-book, A Bailey Weggins Mystery), by Kate White

Try Not To Breathe (e-book), by Holly Seddon

***

WHAT’S NEXT?

Yesterday I started reading Seven Days of Us, by Francesca Hornak, and hoped to finish it before writing this post….I may still finish it today, but I didn’t want to rush.  I am savoring this dysfunctional family.

***

I also started reading The One and Only, by Emily Giffin, a book I purchased in April 2016 from the bargain table at Barnes & Noble.

***

Then I will follow my moods….

***

That was my week…what did yours look like?  On Wednesday, I celebrated my birthday again with a friend of many years…and had this delicious dessert, Pumpkin Cheesecake:

***

Advertisements

75 thoughts on “WEEKLY UPDATES: NOVEMBER IS COZY!

    • Thanks, Di, and I happily received my clock in time…and then had to change the time on it this morning! LOL.

      I loved that dessert…it’s a good thing I don’t have it every day. Now I will wait for Thanksgiving to gorge some more. Enjoy your week!

      Like

    • I did get the clock in time! “In person,” I love it more, as it has a shabby chic appearance, which is great, since so does the bookshelf where it now resides.

      Thanks for stopping by, Lexxie, and enjoy your week!

      Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Trish, and finding Try Not To Breathe again was “serendipitous” for me…I had forgotten about it, so I was glad to see it.

      I am loving Seven Days of Us…almost finished. Enjoy your week!

      Like

    • I had to change the time on my Kindle, but I’ll bet there is a way for it to happen automatically. I’m going to check on that!

      I’m exhausted from all the time changes! My many clocks, my microwave, and the coffee pot. Luckily some things change automatically, like the TVs, the computer, and my cell phone.

      I haven’t read Joan Didion before, but after seeing her special, I had to try this one. Enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting, Harvee.

      Like

  1. Our clocks went back a few weeks ago. I completely forgot then got confused when my phone (which had automatically changed) and my car had different times. Paper Ghosts looks like an interesting book – I’ll keep my eye out for your review. Happy belated birthday and have a good week x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Emma…the car clock! I knew I forgot something…LOL. I wish they would just keep standard time all year long! It is very confusing…and also tiring.

      I like the look of Paper Ghosts, too; I enjoyed the author’s previous book, Black-Eyed Susans.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ha-ha…yes, it is a task, and I usually forget the car clock or something else. I should be organized and have a list.

      Thanks for stopping by, Samantha, and “in person,” the clock is even prettier, with a shabby chic look…it fits nicely on my shabby chic bookshelf.

      Enjoy your week!

      Like

  2. Isn’t it great when birthday celebrations go on for days? Around here, we’ve started calling them birthday festivals! Seven Days of Us is on my to read list, so I’ll keep an eye out for your review, and that pumpkin cheesecake has me drooling 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I couldn’t eat that whole pumpkin cheesecake, but I took the rest of it home for later. I do love the celebrations, JoAnn, more so now than when I was younger.

      The best things about Seven Days of Us were the complicated family relationships, which feel true to life.

      Enjoy your week!

      Like

  3. Happy belated birthday! I hope it was wonderful, and well, you had that spectacular cake. Yum! I DNFed The One and Only. That storyline is just not for me, and I haven’t tried another Griffin since, but I know I should.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love your clock. It looks vintage. And lots of great reads this week. I went on a buying binge when Amazon notified of sales for some books on my wish list. I’m chalking it up to my birthday gift even though its not til, the end of this month. LOL Your viewing area looks like mine. Tons of remotes! LOL

    My Sunday Post

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Laura, and birthday celebrations can start early…and end late. LOL

      The clock feels a bit shabby chic to me, which works perfectly with my bookshelf where I have stashed it.

      Those remotes are crazy! One of them is for a VCR that I still use occasionally, to watch old VHS tapes. I couldn’t get the thing to work to reset the clock today…but I realized that I don’t need the clock, since I’m not recording on it.

      Enjoy your week!

      Like

    • Thanks, Evelina, although I’m not yet finished with the challenge. We have until the end of December…so I’m hoping to whittle down the stacks even more.

      Last year, my end-of-challenge total was 100 books, so I’m ahead of the game.

      Like

  5. I was surprised we didn’t have as many trick or treaters this year. Luckily I didn’t buy a lot of candy, because I don’t need that temptation in our house lol. You have done great on your reading challenge and I love your new clock. This time change is always hard to adjust to. I hope you have a great week and enjoy your books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Kathy, I have been tired all day, since I woke up so early! (5:30). But I got the clocks all changed and read some more.

      Now I think I should visit Netflix…just in case I can binge-watch something good.

      Like

  6. Oh that clock is so cute. Love it. I had just two trick or treaters. Prearranged relatives – a 3 and 4 year old. They arrived at the door and said ” Trick or Tread – have you got some lollies for us?” Their mother/aunt was embarrassed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • My only trick or treaters in the ten years I’ve lived here were grandchildren, brought by parents. Not for many years, though; they are too old for it now…LOL.

      I am enjoying the clock and although I have to take off the back to reset it, the task is simple.

      Thanks for visiting (and hosting), Kathryn. Enjoy your week!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Cute clock! I have one that I can see from my couch too. It is almost the only one in the house that doesn’t automatically update when the time changes. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I think I should have invested in more that can automatically update. But I saved myself a big chore by removing the batteries from the four above the mantle.

      Thanks for stopping by, Kathy, and enjoy your week.

      Like

    • Thanks, Kathy, and the clock arrived in time…on Saturday. I was happily watching it periodically throughout the day yesterday, making sure it still works! LOL

      I have had clocks that suddenly stopped working because the “hands” stuck together! Weird, right?

      Enjoy your week.

      Like

  8. Your home pics are lovely, pretty touches all around your reading room, so organized too. And that dessert is scrumptious looking! I’m so glad you have Joan Didion’s book. I’ve read her early stuff like Play It as It Lays, Slouching Towards Bethlehem, and The White Album — all three are excellent. And the novel Book of Common Prayer. Have you read much of her works? She’s a true Californian — but she moved to NYC. ugh. Enjoy your week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for visiting, Susan, and I have been eyeing Didion’s work for years…I don’t know why I never got around to her books, but the documentary on Netflix reminded me that I love the look of her work. So after I read (and love) Play It As It Lays, I am sure I will read more. I love that title “Slouching Towards Bethlehem.”

      I would love to visit New York, but can’t imagine living there!

      I do love decorating and organizing my stuff…but I hate dusting and vacuuming!

      Like

  9. I love the clock! It’s so pretty and vintage-y. The clock change thing is always a little disorienting while I’m trying to get everything changed. I forget what changes automatically and what doesn’t so it’s always a surprise. Seven Days of Us looks really good. I’m going to have to add that to my TBR. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Katherine, I love the clock, too, as it goes with my shabby chic bookshelf…

      Even though I thought I had changed all of my clocks, I hadn’t done the car…or my watch.

      Loved Seven Days of Us…hope you do, too.

      Like

  10. Pingback: Books That Caught Our Eye | Mailbox Monday

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s