SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS — BOOK BEGINNINGS & THE FRIDAY 56 — APRIL 27

Welcome to some serendipitous fun today as we share Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and as we showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

This week has been one of reorganizing my stacks, and in doing so, I’ve rediscovered books I wanted enough to purchase, but somehow they got buried.  I’m digging them up now!

Today’s choice is Big City Eyes, by Delia Ephron, the author who gave us Hanging Up (also made into a movie).  I bought this one more than five years ago.  How do I know?  I had it in my house in the foothills, and I moved five years ago!  So I might have had this one even longer…GAHHH.

Blurb:  To keep her fifteen-year-old son safe from the everyday temptations of New York City–namely sex, drugs, and all-night clubs–single mom Lily Davis decides it’s time she and Sam move to Sakonnet Bay, a picturesque town on the Long Island coast with a much slower pace. Or so she thinks.

For Sam makes a friend who speaks only in Klingon–and before you can say wejpuh, they’re having sex on the kitchen table. Lily lands a great job as a columnist for the local paper, but the folks in town are gossiping about her run-in with a nipping dog and police sergeant Tom McKee. Most disturbing, there’s the undeniable attraction between Lily and the very married McKee. And when she and Tom stumble upon what appears to be a dead woman in a house they’re . . . well . . . trespassing in, Lily’s picture-postcard world begins to peel at the edges. How much passion, guilt, and murder can one woman take?

***

Beginning:  I moved to Sakonnet Bay to save Sam.  I woke up with the idea.  It had been one of those problem-solving nights.  Having fallen asleep in a state of intense distress, I awakened with the notion that if I uprooted my life for three years, I could avert disaster.

I’ve had those kinds of brainstorms.  Have you?  They often foreshadow unexpected events, not necessarily good!

***

p. 56:  And then he was fully awake and our connection was broken.  His smile vanished.  He seized the remote and upped the sound.  His eyes dulled into TV land.  He plucked a half-eaten bagel stick from the coffee table and collapsed into a semi-stupor.

***

Uh-oh, that doesn’t bode well….wonder what will happen next?  What about the rest of you?  Anything exciting on your bookshelf?  Come on by and share…..

36 thoughts on “SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS — BOOK BEGINNINGS & THE FRIDAY 56 — APRIL 27

    1. I’m struggling with the impulse to buy….the Kindle actually made it harder to resist. I rationalize that I’m not taking up space with new books…ha-ha.

      Thanks for stopping by, Jo. Enjoy your weekend.

      Like

  1. Hi Laurel-Rain,

    I have so many books on our numerous shelves, that I don’t really need to ever buy another one … but you guessed it …. I still do!!

    I am taking on so many author reviews as well, that the TBR mountain is growing rather than shrinking.

    I am not sure about your book this week, having said that, your lines are very alluring and the synopsis intriguing …. Oh! go on then, you’ve convinced me to add it!!

    I hope that you enjoy both the book and your weekend … here’s to more great book finds on your shelves,

    Yvonne

    Like

    1. I know that I don’t need to buy another book…and would still have plenty to read for the foreseeable future. But it’s an obsession! Especially when I see books all around the blogosphere…and they tempt me with their gorgeous covers and blurbs.

      Alas, I am an addict! lol

      Thanks for stopping by, Yvonne…enjoy your books and your weekend.

      Like

  2. rosecityreader

    Books sit for a long, long time before they percolate up tot he top of my reading list, so I fully understand taking 5 years or more to get to one.

    This sounds good to me — kind of like a Susan Isaak book, which I enjoy every so often.

    Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings on Fridays.

    Like

    1. I’ve only read Delia’s and Nora’s…will have to check Amy out….Thanks for stopping by, Sharon, and until I reorganized my stacks and brought them into the office, I had totally forgotten about some of my treasures. Enjoy your weekend.

      Like

  3. I have a cabinet of books that have all been there for a few years. Out of sight out of mind? The synopsis and beginning of Big City Eyes captured my interest. Looking forward to your review!

    Like

    1. A cabinet sounds like a good place…neat. I had mine on an old redwood cart in my bedroom for years…then I bought a bookshelf and started moving them onto stacks in my office…lol

      Thinking that I would have an incentive to read through them! I think it’s working.

      Thanks for stopping by, Mary, and I’ll be starting this one soon.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.