BOOKISH THURSDAY #30: SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS

bookish  thursdays

Welcome to Thursday, a day that once seemed lost, with nothing exciting happening anywhere.  But then that changed, and today I am celebrating a couple of the bookish events around the blogosphere, like Lexxie’s Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts; and Christine’s Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts.

 

 

unConventionalBookViews_Meme-ThirstyThursdayHungryHearts-1-450x200

Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts:

Today’s feature is an ARC from Amazon Vine:  Untethered, by Julie Lawson Timmer.

 

 

27272424

 

When Char Hawthorn’s husband dies unexpectedly, she is left questioning everything she once knew to be true: from the cozy small town life they built together to her relationship with her stepdaughter, who is suddenly not bound to Char in any real way. Untethered explores what bonds truly form a family and how, sometimes, love knows no bounds.

***

In this scene, family and friends are hanging around in the days after the funeral, and food seems to be a focus.  Some are trying to figure out what one particular guest will eat, since she tends to prefer wheatgrass shakes.

 

“Or something.  Whatever it is, it likely doesn’t allow her to eat a regular lunch.  Or any of this stuff.”  She waved her hand toward the stove, where Char was scrambling eggs and Will was tending to two frying pans, one filled with bacon, the other with sliced potatoes and onions. “It’s just as well she’s tied up this morning.”

“We’d better clean up all the evidence before she gets here,” Will said.  He winked at Allie.  “Don’t want to get you in trouble.”  Looking at his sister, he added, “Or you.”

***

 

picmonkey-collage-textured

My Bookish (and Not So Bookish) Thoughts:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

  • My sofa table now looks like this, with fewer and smaller pieces:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

  • This weekend was frustrating for me, as I couldn’t comment on any Word Press sites, even though all of my blogs are at WP…and I obviously have an account.  They somehow ended up in spam folders everywhere.
  • Thankfully, by Tweeting to the various blog owners about my situation, they were able to find the comments and retrieve them.
  • Could my user name “laurelrainsnow,” which showed up on comments, be the problem?  If so, why now?
  • I changed the name on my comments to Laurel-Rain Snow, rather than the user name, thinking it seems less “spammy.”  Or not.  My name, no matter what form it takes, does sound a bit like a weather report…lol.  My comments are going through this week, but probably because a number of bloggers pulled some out of the spam folders, which alerted Askimet that all is good here.
  • My Netflix viewing of Longmire is on hold until Season 5 arrives on the 23rd.
  • Meanwhile, I’m obsessed with a show called Offspring, which is dramatic, funny, with some characters I enjoy, and others that are truly annoying.

 

offspring-image-resized

 

  • Bloggiesta starts tomorrow, going through the 18th.  As usual, I’ve already begun working on my chosen blog:  Curl up and Read.
  • On the bookish front, I’ve read two books so far this week:

Girl on the Run, by Daryl Wood Gerber (Click title for review):  a story that captures a world of fantasy, secrets, and ultimate betrayal.

 

 

29941745

***

They Might Not Mean To, But They Do, by Cathleen Schine (click for review):  a family story, with characters that span the generations.  It’s about aging, about dying, and about coping.

 

 

28683058

***

  • It is almost 10:00 p.m., and I got a frantic call from my daughter.  The cordless phone was in another room, so she called repeatedly until I went to retrieve the phone.
  • What was the emergency?  Well, some of the offspring had been texting me, and got worried when I didn’t text back.   (Because, if I’m not attached to my iPhone like they are, I, the doddering old woman, must have fallen and can’t get up).
  •  I was just talking to someone about the Millennials (my grandchildren) and how they are attached to their devices and don’t know how to actually converse.
  • It seems Gen-X has the same problem (my grown kids).  I think they are Gen-X.

***

So, now that I have been properly reprimanded for setting my phone down, I guess I’ll close…and go text some of them.

What has your week been like?  Share, please.

***

10 thoughts on “BOOKISH THURSDAY #30: SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS

    1. Thanks, Cleo, and I think WP must have done something, because some other bloggers were having the same problem the week before, and they also comment regularly. I get annoyed when WP takes actions that make our lives more difficult. Like that whole “improved posting” experience thing they implemented.

      I also am looking forward to Untethered. Thanks for visiting….and for rescuing my comments!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi! I think lots of people were having WordPress issues last week – two blogs I follow posted things saying that they couldn’t find comments or reply to comments, so perhaps it wasn’t just you 🙂

    I’m glad you discovered Offspring (it’s an Australian show and everyone here was OBSESSED by it). Not sure how far in you are but it did run for quite a few seasons and then came to what everyone agreed was a satisfying finish. However, some fans were begging for more and so, a year after the show ended, another group of producers and writers resurrected it and there’s a new season on Australian tv now – alas, it hasn’t been received all that well – not sure if it’s because of the change of writers or because they should have just left well enough alone!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are six seasons of Offspring on Netflix, and I’m halfway through Season 3. Looking forward to immersing myself in this crazy family for a while.

      Thanks for stopping by, Kate, and as for WP, I know some people had trouble last week, too. So I think WP did something wonky to the spam filtering….and, like most of their “improvements,” I’m not happy about it. I think mine is sorted now….but you never know what will hit next!

      Like

  2. I like the sound of Untethered.
    I had some issues last week with commenting on WP blogs – thought it was because I have a new computer. I sent a question to WP but never heard anything. All of a sudden the problem disappeared. Who knows?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, yes, WP support feels invisible…I never hear from them, either. I Tweeted the bloggers, asking them to check their spam folders, which others had done last week. That worked. Now I am zealously checking the spam folders on my blogs, just in case.

      Thanks for visiting, Mary, and who knows what WP will throw on us next? (I think they did something to the spam filtering).

      I am eager to read Untethered, too, as I enjoyed another book by the author (Five Days Left).

      Like

    1. Thanks, Rita, and between the books, Netflix, and the occasional movie, I keep busy doing whatever feels good at the time. Glad you could stop by, and I can’t wait for the new season of Longmire…and all the TV fall lineup.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

