BOOKISH THURSDAY #21: SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS

bookish thursdays

Welcome to Thursday, a day that once seemed lost, with nothing exciting happening anywhere.  But then that changed, and today I am celebrating some of the bookish events around the blogosphere, like Lexxie’s Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts; Kimberlyfaye’s TBR Thursday; and Christine’s Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts.

 

 

unConventionalBookViews_Meme-ThirstyThursdayHungryHearts-1-450x200

 

For Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts, my excerpt comes from my current read, Clouds in My Coffee, by Julie Mulhern, Book 3 of the Country Club Murders.  Our MC, Ellison Russell, seems to stumble over dead bodies or become the target of murderers…without even trying.  The story is set in 1974, in Kansas City, Missouri.

 

 

51Cx6EtbAOL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

 

In today’s snippet, Ellison has been targeted twice:  once at an auction, and next when someone fire bombs her house.  The next morning after the gala hosted by her mother, when the woman who took the drink meant for Ellison has died, she is feeling especially vulnerable.

 

The smell of bacon lured me from my bed.

God love Aggie; she’d come to work on a Sunday.  This called for a huge bonus.  Normally on Sundays, Grace and I fended for ourselves.  That usually meant take-out pizza in front of the NBC Sunday Mystery Movie or Kojak.  Tonight, given that I had a house full of guests, I’d planned on upping my game with Chinese.

I washed my face, brushed my teeth and hair and threw on actual clothes before I headed to the kitchen—after all, there was no telling who’d be clustered around the island.

Just Marjorie (her sister).

“You cook?” I asked.

“Don’t you?”  My sister wore capris and a sweater.  How nice that she possessed clothing capable of covering more than twenty percent of her body.  She should wear it more often.

“Not really.”

“Eggs and bacon?”  She grabbed a hot pad holder and pulled out a loaf pan that filled the air with the scent of banana bread.  “I left this in the oven to keep it warm.”

***

Yum…sounds good, right?  I am a big fan of eggs and bacon, especially since I seldom have them.

***

 

 

tbr-thursday

 

TBR Thursdays, hosted by Kimberlyfaye Reads:

 

I have had The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry, by Gabrielle Zevin, since November 2014.  It sounds like a book I would enjoy…so why is it still languishing on Pippa, my Kindle?

 

 

 

81AU62N7HsL._SL1500_

 

***

“Funny, tender, and moving, The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry reminds us all exactly why we read and why we love.”*

A. J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be. He lives alone, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen. But when a mysterious package appears at the bookstore, its unexpected arrival gives Fikry the chance to make his life over–and see everything anew.

“This novel has humor, romance, a touch of suspense, but most of all love–love of books and bookish people and, really, all of humanity in its imperfect glory.” —Eowyn Ivey, author of The Snow Child

***

What do you think?  Have you read it?  Should I start reading it now?

***

 

 

picmonkey-collage-textured

 

Here are some Bookish (and Not So Bookish) Thoughts, hosted by Christine.

 

  • Fourth of July was a quiet day for me, with reading, movies, and Netflix.  But the weekend before, I had my youngest grandson, Noah, age 13, spending a couple of days.  He brought his X-Box, and we hooked it up in my bedroom, where he seemed very comfy with the set-up.  I watched the whole Season I of Marcella, on Netflix in the living room;

 

Noah enjoying X-box-July

***

  • Before he settled in, we spent some time at Barnes & Noble, and then had burgers at Red Robin;

 

July - Noah with burger

***

  • Currently I’m enjoying the book mentioned above, Clouds in My Coffee...and also The Beauty of the End, by Debbie Howells;
  • Met a friend at Starbucks this morning for coffee and danish…and it was still cool enough to eat and drink outside, which is rare these days with our triple digits;
  • Yesterday, I had to take my car to the dealer for an airbag repair; there was a recall.  The car was there all day, but luckily the dealership provided shuttle service home and back.  I didn’t get my car until almost 6 p.m., so I headed straight for The Elephant Bar...and had this repast:

 

 

july 5 dinner

 

 

***

  • While I ate, I continued reading Friction, by Sandra Brown, which I finished…and reviewed last night.  Click the title for my review;

 

 

25263917

***

That’s about it for my week so far.  What did yours look like?

 

Madeleine on June 15 - coffee

***

16 thoughts on “BOOKISH THURSDAY #21: SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS

    1. I’m glad to hear that, Mary, as I saw it on a blog the other day and remembered that I had it! Time to dust it off. And yes, I was happy to have such a pleasant weekend with Noah! Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  1. I’m in the ‘bacon makes everything better’ camp 😀
    I have a good friend that was vegetarian for more than a decade. Bacon finally broke her. I think of her every time I cook it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been yearning for bacon and eggs ever since I read that portion of the book, Kimberly. I need to have more eggs and bacon in my fridge! lol. I finished the book, and loved it all the way through…I wish there would be another book, but since it’s a trilogy, I guess not.

      I hadn’t had Red Robin burgers in ages, so I was glad that Noah wanted to go there. I especially love their fries, too. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. That cozy series sounds interesting. It’s technically historical, right? Which is funny, because when I think historical fiction, I always think of the far, far past, not just 30-40 years ago. My preconceptions are weird.

    I’ve never heard of The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, but I might have to add it to my TBR list ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Like you, I don’t think of events that happened in my lifetime as historical…but technically, I guess they are. LOL.

      When my kids were studying “history” that covered events during my college years, that freaked me out just a little bit, too.

      What I like about books set before the New Millennium is the absence of technology. Especially a mystery series. More leg work and mind work have to happen.

      I enjoyed this trilogy, Mia. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

    1. Doesn’t it sound wonderful, Lexxie? I had been craving bacon and eggs ever since, so yesterday, I went to one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants and ordered their bacon and eggs omelet, with avocado, tomato and Swiss cheese. Thanks for hosting…and for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.