DEALING WITH THE CONSEQUENCES…& DISTRACTIONS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sometimes life’s unexpected treasures can be discovered in past moments…events we may have forgotten.

With blogging, we can sometimes recapture those moments.  As I changed my themes and headers on my remaining SIX blogs, I went back in my archives to read old posts.  As far back here as 2010.

Sadly, some of the links don’t work anymore, as the reviews or other title hook-ups go to blogs I no longer have.  Earlier today, I spent some time linking reviews to Goodreads, in those cases where the links went to “Neverland” (note my header with Neverland images).  Accidental?

But this could go on forever, right?  Do I want to spend time back there, fixing what is now broken, because of my recent actions?  Does it matter?

I must admit that I am a perfectionist, and sometimes my older blog posts make me cringe.

The content, not so much.  But the images and links…that’s another story.

But onward…and let’s focus on the present.  I am finally getting in the mood for the holidays, and brought out a few Christmas decorations. (Note the little gingerbread boy hanging on my cupboard at the top of the post).

In the image below, note the candy stripe “bear” hanging from another cupboard.  So far, I haven’t done much more in this part of the room.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

Here, on my pub table, I planted one of my miniature trees, and the little Christmas fairies.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

And on the hearth, you can see a few holiday “characters,” like the Nutcrackers.  The poinsettia seems a little “fake,” but that’s what I have from my bins.  Fantasia Mickey is a regular “greeter” on the hearth.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

Am I distracting myself from the consequences of my blog deleting?  The links that don’t work?  The ones I still should fix?

Well, I hope to also distract myself with reading…but the last two books I read didn’t do much for me.

Here’s hoping that this one, The Guest Room, by Chris Bohjalian, will do the trick.  It is a spellbinding tale of a party gone horribly wrong: two men lie dead in a suburban living room, two women are on the run from police, and a marriage is ripping apart at the seams.

 

 

25513627

***

Do you ever search your past posts and cringe?  Do you try to fix things, or do you move on?  What are you hooked on now?

***

2 thoughts on “DEALING WITH THE CONSEQUENCES…& DISTRACTIONS

    1. Isn’t it amazing how much we’ve all learned over the years we’ve been blogging? That’s what we can take away from the state of our early posts, right? LOL

      If we don’t look at them often, then maybe others won’t either. I’m just weird that way, looking back in spite of how embarrassed I am about the links and the images, etc.

      Thanks for visiting, Karen.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

