TSS: LOOKING AHEAD! — SEPT. 23

Good morning and welcome to another Sunday Salon.

I stayed up late last night finishing The Catcher in the Rye, by J. D. Salinger, my chosen book for Banned Books Week.

It was actually my first time reading it, and over the years I’ve heard mixed reviews of it.

So imagine my surprise to find myself totally drawn into Holden Caulfield’s world….so much so that I was actually depressed for much of the book!

Until the end, of course, with that scene that seemingly promises a better tomorrow.

What did the rest of you think of it?Β  If you’ve read it, of course.

On October 5, I’ll be posting my review during Banned Books Week, and having a giveaway of the book at Rainy Days and Mondays.

My reading and blogging week went pretty well, in spite of the “death” of my LCD TV…or maybe because of it.Β  More time for reading.

But I was also feeling angst and veering between positive feelings about its repair to the possibility of finding a new one.

On the Blogs This Week:

Tuesday Potpourri:Β  Playing with PicMonkey

Final Check-In for Round Three (Row 80)

Sweet Saturday Samples:Β  Investigating

Sparking a Story on a Saturday

Review:Β  Sister, by Rosamund Lupton (Click Titles for reviews)

Review:Β  Click:Β  An Online Love Story, by Lisa Becker

Review:Β  This Time Together, by Carol Burnett

***

As for upcoming events, we have Bloggiesta next weekend, and I’ll be “making over” this blog.Β  And then Banned Books Week!

What are your Sunday plans?Β  Plans for the upcoming week?

I think I’ll be watching movies.Β  I was going to see the Clint Eastwood film….maybe.

16 thoughts on “TSS: LOOKING AHEAD! — SEPT. 23

  1. I wasn’t hugely impressed with Catcher but I liked other Salinger works I’ve read.

    Today my Dad is visiting to help us with our bajillion* DIY jobs that need doing. (* Only a slight exaggeration.) And tonight, if we have energy left, it’s pub quiz time!

    Have a good week.

    Like

  2. The Catcher In the Rye was a high school classic I really enjoyed, but have avoided rereading because I’m afraid it won’t be the same from my middle-aged vantage point. I’ll be sure to look for your review.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.