WEEKLY UPDATES: A COOLING TREND – THE 90S!

Good morning! Today’s post will link up to The Sunday Salon, The Sunday Post and Stacking the Shelves, for weekly updates.

**Mailbox Monday is hosted at the home site: Mailbox Monday.

And let’s join Kathryn, our leader in It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?, at Book Date.

The past week brought a cooling trend:  yes, down in the 90s, but better than triple digits.  Could we be on our way to fall?  Maybe not just yet, as the District Fair is coming in early October, and in all the years (46) that I’ve lived in these parts, it is always hot during the fair.  But knowing what to expect is better than not knowing.  I think.

It has been a week of reading, reviewing, and blogging.  Three books read, with my total for the Read the Books You Buy Challenge now at 80!

No Netflix viewing this week.  I did watch some old and favorite movies (feel good movies) like Julie and Julia.  I love that one!  I also watched Jackie again.  I guess I needed comfort viewing.  However, I also watched The Sinners, and the season finale episodes of The Fosters and The Bold Type.  Cliff hangers, of course.

I have a few movies still on the DVR for this weekend…and maybe I’ll see what I can find on Netflix.  Later in the month comes a movie starring Jane Fonda and Robert Redford:  Our Souls at Night.  I can’t wait!

I’ve been seeing previews for this movie all week, so I must go to the neighborhood theater and see it!  Home Again, with Reese Witherspoon, etc.

Let’s grab some coffee and look back at the week.  The mug is a favorite, and reads:  Just for Today, Be Happy.  I like that sentiment.

LAST WEEK ON THE BLOGS:

A Journey Through My Shelves…

Tuesday Excerpts:  “The Burning Girl”

A Week of Reading….

A Journey Through Some of My Treasures…

Thoughts on a Thursday….

Bookish Friday:  “I’ll Have What She’s Having”

Friday Potpourri:  Saying Goodbye to Summer….

Review:  The Truth We Bury (e-book), by Barbara Taylor SisselReview:  Lies She Told (e-book), by Cate Holahan – (NetGalley – 9/12)Review:  Z:  A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, by Therese Anne Fowler

***

INCOMING BOOKS:  (Titles/Covers Linked to Amazon)

One Vine Review Book came in my mailbox!  And like a crazy person, I purchased five downloads.

Happy People Read and Drink Coffee, by Agnes Martin-Lugand

***

Downloads:

The Heirs (e-book), by Susan Rieger

Lie to Me (e-book), by J. T. Ellison

Genuine Fraud (e-book), by E. Lockhart

The Summer That Made Us (e-book), by Robyn Carr

***

And the final download is a re-read…I used to have this book, and I think it went out the door during one of my purges.  Sigh.  This week, I watched the movie again (I have the DVD) starring Jennifer Connelly and Ben Kingsley, and I always cry at the end…so I just had to read the book again.  I’m not sure when I’ll get around to it, but I like that it’s there, waiting.

House of Sand and Fog (e-book), by Andre Dubus III

***

WHAT’S NEXT?

Currently Reading:  The Burning Girl (e-book), by Claire Messud

***

Then I have another NetGalley review book to read this week:

The Best Kind of People (e-book), by Zoe Whittall (Release Date – 9/19)

And maybe this one:

I’ll Have What She’s Having (e-book), by Erin Carlson ( I love this cover, and I’m a big fan of Nora Ephron and these movies).

***

That’s my week.  What did yours look like?  I had a different kind of repast at Mimi’s one night this week.  Quiche says fall to me.  And, of course, I had my book companion.

***

WEEKLY UPDATES: HALFWAY THROUGH NOVEMBER!

PicMonkey Collage-october weekly updates image

 

Good morning!  Today’s post will link up to Sunday Salon, The Sunday Post,  and Book Journey, for  Weekly Updates.

**Mailbox Monday is now hosted at the home site:  Mailbox Monday.

Good morning, Bloggers!  Grab some coffee (or a mimosa), and let’s talk about our weeks.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Another wonderful week has passed, and while nothing spectacular happened, any week in which I find one or two books that I thoroughly enjoy is a good one.  And there were some TV shows and movies that kept me engaged as well.

One of the movies I saw on TV that I especially enjoyed (On Demand) was a delightful one starring Shirley MacLaine and Christopher Plummer:   Elsa and Fred. 

What a lovely story of two aging people who fall in love.

So now, while I am still pondering the week, let’s chat:

 

LAST WEEK ON THE BLOGS:

Sunday Potpourri:  Late Edition

Tuesday Potpourri:  Intros/Teasers – “Into the Darkest Corner”

From the Interior:  A Constant Struggle – To Purge or Not to Purge

Hump Day Creativity:  Waiting for “Someone is Watching”

Guilty or Innocent? – Excerpted from “Interior Designs”

My Bookish (and Not So Bookish) Thoughts:  Tidbits from My Life

Serendipitous Friday:  Book Beginnings/Friday 56 – “The Twilight Hour”

Saturday Potpourri:  Spotlighting Family

Review:  The Last Letter from Your Lover (e-book), by Jojo Moyes

Review:  Into the Darkest Corner, by Elizabeth Haynes

Review:  The After Wife, by Gigi Levangie Grazer

 

***

INCOMING BOOKS: (Titles/Covers Linked to Amazon)

FOUR wonderful review books from Vine were in my mailbox this week!  And if that wasn’t riches enough, I downloaded four e-books for Sparky….

The Pocket Wife, by Susan Crawford (Vine)

 

 

22571021

 

A stylish psychological thriller with the compelling intrigue of The Silent Wife and Turn of Mind and the white-knuckle pacing of Before I Go to Sleep—in which a woman suffering from bipolar disorder cannot remember if she murdered her friend.

 

Finding Jake, by Bryan Reardon (Vine)

 

 

 

22535503

 

A heart-wrenching yet ultimately uplifting story of psychological suspense in which a parent is forced to confront what he does—and does not—know about his teenage son, in the vein of Reconstructing Amelia, Defending Jacob, and We Need to Talk about Kevin.

 

The Nightingale, by Kristin Hannah (Vine)

 

 

 

91ALAySZBtL._SL1500_

 

 

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author comes Kristin Hannah’s next novel. It is an epic love story and family drama set at the dawn of World War II.

 

Another Night, Another Day, by Sarah Rayner (Vine)

 

 

 

22213603

 

 

Three people, each crying out for help.There’s Karen, about to lose her father; Abby, whose son has autism and needs constant care, and Michael, a family man on the verge of bankruptcy. As each sinks under the strain, they’re brought together at Moreland’s Clinic.

 

Downloads:

 

The Woman Upstairs (e-book), by Claire Messud

 

 

17406638

 

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Emperor’s Children, a masterly new novel: the riveting confession of a woman awakened, transformed and betrayed by a desire for a world beyond her own.

 

All Good Deeds (e-book), by Stacy Green

 

 

91rXNkgqEzL._SL1500_

 

 

Lucy Kendall doesn’t believe she’s a serial killer. She simply eradicates the worst of society and brings justice to the innocent-the children she failed to protect during her decade in Child Protective Services.

A missing child sets off a chain of events linked to a suspect in a life-changing case in Lucy’s past. Her chosen path is terrifying-but the search for the missing child pulls her into web of evil and malice beyond her darkest imagination.

Lucy is jaded and desperate, but will her desperate race for justice prevent her from seeing the truth?

 

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry (e-book), by Gabrielle Zevin

 

 

 

81AU62N7HsL._SL1500_

 

A. J. Fikry, the irascible owner of Island Books, has recently endured some tough years: his wife has died, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and his prized possession–a rare edition of Poe poems–has been stolen. Over time, he has given up on people, and even the books in his store, instead of offering solace, are yet another reminder of a world that is changing too rapidly. Until a most unexpected occurrence gives him the chance to make his life over and see things anew.

 

 

Under a Silent Moon (e-book), by Elizabeth Haynes

 

 

911XITv8UxL._SL1500_

 

 

P. D. James meets E. L. James in Under a Silent Moon, this first novel in an exciting British crime series—a blend of literary suspense and page-turning thriller that introduces formidable Detective Chief Inspector Louisa Smith—from suspense talent Elizabeth Haynes, author of the bestselling Into the Darkest Corner.

 

 

 

***

WHAT’S UP NEXT? (Titles/Covers Linked to Amazon)

 

Currently Reading:  Nora Roberts Land (e-book), by Ava Miles

 

 

 

91UxRlZpifL._SL1500_

 

The Twilight Hour, by Nicci Gerrard

 

 

 

22852979

 

 

Leaving Time (e-book), by Jodi Picoult

 

 

91Icd8P256L._SL1500_

 

 

 

Florence Gordon (e-book), by Brian Morton

 

 

81rmR8Ff+sL._SL1500_

 

 

***

That’s my week of books, blogging, and movies.  What did your week look like?  What’s up next for you?

***

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

***

TSS: LOTS OF MOVIES, A LITTLE BIT OF READING — AND HAPPY CINCO DE MAYO!

sunday salon logo

coffee cupGood morning!  Happy Sunday Salon, and I hope that you all had wonderful weeks!

My week had a lot more TV/Movie Watching, with a little bit of reading and blogging mixed in.

As a soap opera addict, I was thrilled to be able to again watch One Life to Live and All My Children, that debuted on Hulu.com this week.

Tuesday Potpourri:  Soap Magic, the Online Reboot

Because watching on my laptop seemed a bit tedious, even though I found it fairly easy to do, I discovered something else to make my experience better.  My son hooked my TV to my laptop via an HDMI cable and the show plays out on my TV screen!

Then yesterday, I went to the theater again…yeah, I know, two weeks in a row!  And saw The Big Wedding, with Diane Keaton, Susan Sarandon, Robert DeNiro, Katherine Heigl, etc.

51XMQ+3lT3L

It was good for some laughs and some light-hearted moments.

Then last night, I watched Silver Linings Playbook on DVD…and that was a totally engaging film that had me riveted to the very end.

91u4u+5bp7L._SL1500_

More Blogging:

April Monthly Reading Wrap-Up

What Else?  Sharing at Booking Through Thursday

Sweet Saturday Sample:  Someone is Watching Over Me (An Excerpt)

Books Read/Reviewed (Click Titles Covers for Reviews):

The Engagements, by J. Courtney Sullivan

16071736

Cocktail Hour (e-book), by Tara McTiernan

cocktail hour resized

And I’m reading Summer on Blossom Street ; I should finish it today, if I don’t turn on the TV again!  But I now have a new flat screen TV/DVD player in my bedroom and may curl up there for the duration.

5981415

What did your week look like?  What’s ahead?