HUMP DAY READING: WHAT’S ON YOUR LIST THIS WEEK?

b-n-on-july-20-logo

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

Currently Reading:

While You Were Sleeping, by Kathryn Croft, is a gripping, shocking psychological thriller, with a twist that will take you by surprise. For fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Behind Closed Doors.

 

 

 

41ejae0lqml

I started reading this book today, and already I am totally engaged with the events and the MC Tara Logan.  Here’s a blurb:

 

Tara Logan adores her perfect little family: husband, Noah, and two children, teenager Rosie and eleven-year-old Spencer.

But her happiness is shattered when she wakes up one morning in her neighbour’s bed, with no memory of how she got there or what happened between them. And worse – he has been stabbed to death.

Convinced she didn’t kill Lee and scared of losing everything she cares about, Tara flees home and stays silent, holding her breath as the investigation grips the neighbourhood.

But as her daughter spirals out of control, and her husband becomes increasingly distant, Tara starts to wonder if someone in her life knows what really happened that night. When the police turn their questions towards her, Tara realises she has to find out.

But what will it take to uncover the real story, and can she survive the truth?

***

I can’t wait to discover what happened in this mysterious story.

***

JUST FINISHED:

Echoes of Family, by Barbara Claypole White, is a book that kept me rapidly turning pages.  (Click for my review).

 

 

51cj0yy9zjl

Echoes of Family opens up a box of secrets, and in the alternating narratives of Marianne, Gabriel, and Jade, we learn all the truths that are hidden in their hearts. Can Gabriel and Marianne finally confront what they have kept hidden? Will they once and for all bury the pain and move forward? Can Marianne return home and start anew, while Gabriel finds room in his heart for love again?

I connected to the broken characters and their efforts to rebuild their lives….

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

I discovered The Woman on the Stairs, by Bernhard Schlink, on a blog I visited this week.  It will be released on March 14, 2017.  Since I thoroughly enjoyed both the book and the movie, The Reader (click for my Goodreads review), I am eager to find out more.

 

 

33011212

***

Synopsis:  A missing painting. A mysterious woman. Her husband and her lover. Here, the internationally acclaimed author delivers what his fans have been waiting for since The Reader—a powerful new novel about obsession, creativity, and love.

A brilliant and naïve young lawyer’s life is changed forever when a painter and his subject—a breathtakingly beautiful woman—appear at his office in Frankfurt. The woman’s husband is deliberately marring the painting of his wife he commissioned the artist to make. Now the woman and the artist want the painting back. Simple enough—or so it seems before the lawyer becomes enmeshed in the lives of this toxic trio. Love, theft, and deceit unfold in quick succession when the woman, and the painting, suddenly go missing. It will take a strange turn of fate and a natural disaster to reunite the lawyer, the husband, and the artist with the woman they all love, hiding out in Australia—and when they find her they will be forced to reckon with the lies and betrayals of their shared past. This is an intricately crafted, poignant, and beguiling novel—it is Bernhard Schlink writing at his peak.

***

I love the sound of this one, having so enjoyed The Reader.  Since time seems to fly, it won’t seem that long until March.

***

Advertisements

29 thoughts on “HUMP DAY READING: WHAT’S ON YOUR LIST THIS WEEK?

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s