BOOKISH THURSDAY #33: SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS

bookish-thursdays

Welcome to Thursday, a day that once seemed lost, with nothing exciting happening anywhere.  But then that changed, and today I am celebrating a couple of the bookish events around the blogosphere, like Lexxie’s Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts; and Christine’s Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts.

 

unConventionalBookViews_Meme-ThirstyThursdayHungryHearts-1-450x200

Today’s Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts feature is a book I’ve had for a while.  The Dinner, by Herman Koch, is the darkly suspenseful, highly controversial tale of two families struggling to make the hardest decision of their lives — all over the course of one meal.

 

 

15797938

It’s a summer’s evening in Amsterdam, and two couples meet at a fashionable restaurant for dinner. Between mouthfuls of food and over the polite scrapings of cutlery, the conversation remains a gentle hum of polite discourse — the banality of work, the triviality of the holidays. But behind the empty words, terrible things need to be said, and with every forced smile and every new course, the knives are being sharpened.
     Each couple has a fifteen-year-old son. The two boys are united by their accountability for a single horrific act; an act that has triggered a police investigation and shattered the comfortable, insulated worlds of their families.

And so begins the appetizer portion of the meal:

 

“The crayfish are dressed in a vinaigrette of tarragon and baby green onions,” said the manager:  he was at Serge’s plate now, pointing with his pinky.  “And these are chanterelles from the Vosges.”  The pinky vaulted over the crayfish to point out two brown toadstools, cut lengthwise; the “chanterelles” looked as though they had been uprooted only a few minutes ago:  what was sticking to the bottom, I figured, could only be dirt.

 

***

I just lost my appetite!  And the meal, being the centerpiece for potentially violent events, is bound to cause a little indigestion, at the very least.

***

 

picmonkey-collage-textured

My Bookish (and Not So Bookish) Thoughts:

  •  Great reading so far this week!  I finished All the Ugly and Wonderful Things, by Bryn Greenwood (click title for my review).
  • I’m currently reading and loving Small Great Things, by Jodi Picoult, a NetGalley e-ARC to be released on 10/11. With richly layered characters and a gripping moral dilemma that will lead readers to question everything they know about privilege, power, and race, Small Great Things is the stunning new page-turner from #1 New York Times bestselling author Jodi Picoult.
  • I haven’t been feeling that great this week:  achy, sore throat…and if I hadn’t just had my flu shot, I might think…wait!  Sometimes mild flu symptoms appear after a shot.  I wasn’t expecting it, because I’ve had flu shots every year for several years, with no adverse effects.  Hmm.  I am feeling better today, though.
  • Friday, guess what?  I must go to see The Girl on the Train!

 

gat_adv1sheet_rgb_1

 

  • This week, I started watching a new show on Netflix.  I had finished the ones I had been binge-watching (Offspring & Longmire), and now, I have started Shameless.  So far, so good.
  • Old and new favorites on TV are grabbing me…slowly.  I started to watch a couple of new shows, but abandoned them when they didn’t keep my attention (Conviction was one of those; Speechless was another).
  • So far, I’m liking Notorious, the second show in the Thursday line-up…and Grey’s Anatomy and How To Get Away With Murder are both still keeping me tuned in.
  • I have put my idea of moving on hold, for now…unless I find something amazing before the end of the month (when I have to turn in my lease).  I am still looking, and getting emails from Zillow.
  • Meanwhile, I can purge some more…just in case.
  • Today I wrote a post called Hump Day Potpourri:  Happy Birthday, Brett (& Other Tidbits).  Brett is my second son, the one who lives in LA., and today is his birthday.  Here is a photo from the weekend, when he and his eldest, Alec, went to a baseball game.  Alec is a senior at UC Berkeley.

 

 

 

brett-alec-a-big-game

  • I’m looking forward to a new series starting on Sunday, with Sarah Jessica Parker, called Divorce.

 

sjparker

 

 

  • And that’s my week so far.  Hope to finish my current read tonight, and then will start The Dinner, shown above…I think.

***

What has your week been like?  Mine wasn’t bad, except there was a return of the Word Press commenting issue…again.  Comments were going into spam folders right and left; not always, but just often enough to be incredibly annoying.  Bear with me if I have to contact you via Twitter…requesting that my comments be retrieved.  lol.

I did contact WP Support, and sent them some info that they requested.  Answers soon, I hope!

***

10 thoughts on “BOOKISH THURSDAY #33: SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS

  1. I think I’ll pass though I’m not a big fan of crayfish in the first place. They taste like dirt to me. Add in all the hostility and that sounds like an awful meal! I’ll keep my fingers crossed about finding something amazing but I guess the upside of not finding something is not having to pack everything up and then unpack it! Love the picture! Looks like they’re having a good time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Katherine, I feel the same about crayfish.

      As for moving, I agree. Either way, I win. If I find something great, good. If not, I don’t have to pack and move!

      I love the picture, too. Thanks for visiting!

      Like

  2. I’m looking forward to Divorce and hope it’s not a disappointment after Sex in the City. We are going to see Girl on the Train Saturday. I’ve held off on reading the book until after I see the movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I’m excited about it. I learned of it online, I think, and then in one of those magazines that are like a guilty pleasure…lol.

      I hope it’s a good one. I loved SITC, both the series and the movies. Thanks for stopping by, Christine, and for hosting.

      Like

  3. I hope you enjoy The Dinner! Certainly unsettling, but I found myself glued to the page with the character drama and conflict.

    Your post reminds me that I still have to read The Girl on the Train; it’s sitting on my TBR pile at the moment xD Maybe if I feel like reading a thriller after my current reads 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

