BOOKISH THURSDAY #25: SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS

bookish  thursdays

Welcome to Thursday, a day that once seemed lost, with nothing exciting happening anywhere.  But then that changed, and today I am celebrating some of the bookish events around the blogosphere, like Lexxie’s Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts; Kimberlyfaye’s TBR Thursday; and Christine’s Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts.

 

 

 

unConventionalBookViews_Meme-ThirstyThursdayHungryHearts-1-450x200

 

In today’s feature, Truly Madly Guilty, by Liane Moriarty, the characters are a group of married adults, some with children, who have been through some truly horrendous (but unknown at this point) experiences at a barbecue in the recent past.  The story flashes back and forth, slowly moving toward the reveal.

 

 

27831371

***

In this excerpt, we see the characters at the beginning of the barbecue, having just arrived.  Clementine has brought champagne.  The barbecue is hosted by Vid and Tiffany, who live in the McMansion of the neighborhood.  Clementine and Sam are the least well-off of the group, obviously trying to impress.  Erika and Oliver live next door to Vid and Tiffany, comfortably well-off, but not in the same league as Vid and Tiffany.

 

Erika watched Clementine try to rescue the Moet that was foaming and frothing from the bottle, while Vid stood in the middle of his gigantic kitchen, the champagne held aloft in both hands, grinning idiotically like a Formula One winner posing for a photo.

Clementine laughed as if it were all a great hoot, as if it didn’t matter that expensive champagne was being wasted.  She shouldn’t have spent that much.  It wasn’t necessary to turn up to a backyard barbecue with French champagne.  She and Sam always lived beyond their means.  The mortgage on their damp little trendy place!  Erika and Oliver couldn’t believe it when they heard how much they’d borrowed, and then they’d taken the little girls off for a holiday in Italy last year!  Fiscal madness.

***

I can feel the tensions rising already, and I don’t even know, at this point, what the rest of the day will bring.

***

 

 

 

tbr-thursday

 

My TBR pick today is a book I started a while ago and then set aside.  I purchased it in March 2014.   Someone reviewed it recently on a blog, and I was reminded that I once wanted to read it.  Maybe again?

You Should Have Known, by Jean Hanff Korelitz, is the story about a therapist, her oncologist husband, and their son, with everything just as she hoped it would be.  Until….

 

 

 

20248983

Grace Reinhart Sachs is living the only life she ever wanted for herself. Devoted to her husband, a pediatric oncologist at a major cancer hospital, their young son Henry, and the patients she sees in her therapy practice, her days are full of familiar things: she lives in the very New York apartment in which she was raised, and sends Henry to the school she herself once attended. Dismayed by the ways in which women delude themselves, Grace is also the author of a book You Should Have Known, in which she cautions women to really hear what men are trying to tell them. But weeks before the book is published a chasm opens in her own life: a violent death, a missing husband, and, in the place of a man Grace thought she knew, only an ongoing chain of terrible revelations. Left behind in the wake of a spreading and very public disaster, and horrified by the ways in which she has failed to heed her own advice, Grace must dismantle one life and create another for her child and herself.

***

What do you think?  Should I pick this one up again?  Have any of you read it?

***

 

picmonkey-collage-textured

 

  • As I mentioned a couple of weeks ago in my Thursday post, I was headed for a little mini-break at the beach;
  • My granddaughter Fiona and I drove the 10 hour trip (plus stops) to the Northernmost tip of the state to visit my youngest son and his wife…and their dog Auggie;
  • Monday was the day of the drive, but Tuesday and Wednesday were delightful days exploring the beach;

 

August 2016 - Crescent City beach -layered waves

  • And then there were the Big Trees…and Paul Bunyan with Babe the Blue Ox;  I remember taking a road trip through these same woods, seeing those two guys…when I was just a kid;

 

August 2016 - Paul Bunyon & Babe the Blue Ox - Trees of Mystery, Klamath

***

  • Dinners out, like this one in an Italian/Greek restaurant called Marlo’s, with more food than I could eat;

 

 

dinner on August 3

***

  • We drove back home on Thursday, so it was truly a short trip.  I slowly unpacked while watching the shows stored on my DVR…and then there was Season 4 of Wentworth, which I had just discovered on my queue.  Of course I binge-watched all weekend until I finished it;
  • Monday, I went to lunch with my daughter, who is celebrating her 40th birthday on a cruise, leaving today.  That day, we had our only little lunch/celebration at a neighborhood restaurant, The Yard House;

 

Heather's birthday lunch - 2016

***

What a week that was, and this one has been all about playing catch-up!  What was yours like?

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA***

4 thoughts on “BOOKISH THURSDAY #25: SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS

    • That would stress me out, too, Katherine. I love the simpler life, one that I can afford.

      As for turning 40 on a cruise, sounds perfect, doesn’t it? I remember that at 40 I had just gotten married (again!) and then realized I’d made a big mistake. LOL.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  1. Nice recap of your trip. Beautiful beach shot. Happy Birthday to your daughter — nice that she is going on a cruise. Your book You Should Have Known sounds worth a second try. I have not read it but it seems intriguing enough. Have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

