BOOKISH THURSDAY #20: SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS

bookish  thursdays

Welcome to Thursday, a day that once seemed lost, with nothing exciting happening anywhere.  But then that changed, and today I am celebrating some of the bookish events around the blogosphere, like Lexxie’s Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts; Kimberlyfaye’s TBR Thursday; and Christine’s Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts.

 

 

unConventionalBookViews_Meme-ThirstyThursdayHungryHearts-1-450x200

My foodie snippet has been taken from my current read, The Perfect Girl, by Gilly MacMillan.  Our MC Zoe is a talented pianist, but she is also a girl with a past.  In her new life, which she calls Second Chance Family, she and her step-brother Lucas are performing one night.

 

 

41PFHqBz4xL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

 

After the performance, during which something very dramatic happened, the family gathers for food.  Zoe has made an innocuous comment to steer them away from talking about what happened earlier:

 

It’s my mum who’s coming now and she’s carrying a plate of bruschetta and a pile of napkins.

“Paper napkins, I think, for a garden supper,” she says.  She hasn’t heard what I said and I don’t repeat myself.

We sit around the table and Chris pours wine:  a full glass for him and Mum, but just a half for Lucas and me.  Tessa covers the top of her glass.  “Water for me now, I think,” she says.  “It’s so hot.”

***

A very tense meal ensues, and before the night is over, tragedy will strike.

***

 

 

tbr-thursday

My TBR Thursday selection is a book I’ve had since September 2014.  Desolation Row, by Kay Kendall, is a story set in the 1960s, with themes of protest and an escape to Canada.

 

 

51pDWc4UtaL

 

The flight to avoid the killing…
It’s 1968. The Cold War is hot, the Vietnam War is raging, and the women’s movement is beating a far-distant drum. When Austin Starr’s husband decides to protest the war by emigrating from Texas to Canada, she goes along, with the biblical dictate of “whither-thou-goest I will go” ringing in her ears.

Leads to murder…
No activist herself, Austin is homesick, drowning in culture shock, and now, her husband has been accused of murdering a fellow draft resister, the black-sheep son of a U.S. Senator. Alone and ill-equipped to negotiate in a foreign country, she is befriended by Larissa Klimenko, the daughter of Austin’s Russian history professor.

A desperate race to find the truth…
The Mounties aren’t supposed to harass draft-age boys but the truth is very different, especially when political pressure is applied by both the victim’s father and the Canadian prime minister’s office. They may have a reputation for always getting their man, but Austin is convinced this time they have the wrong one. Once courted by the CIA, and a lover of mystery and espionage novels, Austin launches her own investigation into the murder. When ominous letters warning her to stop her sleuthing turn into death threats, Austin must find the real killer or risk losing everything. Her love—and her life—are on the line.

***

What do you think?  Should I read this one now?  Later?  I know what drew me to it, but is it something that appeals to me now?

***

 

 

picmonkey-collage-textured

Here are some Bookish (and Not So Bookish) Thoughts:

 

 

tax-time

  • Tax time is long past, right?  So why am I still impatiently waiting for my state tax refund?  Well, the State Franchise Tax Board and the trust that handles my pension each made mistakes, which, after many calls back and forth…and mail, too, they finally tell me that I should be getting my refund shortly.  That was two weeks ago!  And my return was filed five months ago.  GRRR!
  • While waiting for something that I sometimes believe will never happen, I try to keep busy reading, and staying indoors to avoid the triple digit heat…105 today!  The sun was shining in rather brightly in the morning (below);

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • Of course, I didn’t leave the window open…it was time to close it up and turn on the air conditioning;
  • I haven’t watched much Netflix this week, as some of my favorite TV shows are back from hiatus:  Major Crimes, Rizzoli & Isles, The Fosters…and a new show I’m enjoying:  American Gothic;
  • I’m reading The Perfect Girl, by Gilly MacMillan, and loving the twists and turns and the multiple narrators, which offers the opportunity to decide which of the unreliable narrators is more likely to be telling the truth;

 

 

41PFHqBz4xL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

 

 

 

30119416

 

***

  • Earlier today, I was playing with PicMonkey, and also another site, trying to create “cartoons” of some of my photos, like these:  (the one on the left is a photo of mine from 1978, while the one on the right is a recent one);cartoon me 3

 

cartoon me - 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

***

What I actually want is for someone (like my granddaughter) to draw a cartoon sketch of one of my photos.  To use on the blog…or wherever.

The above are examples of what happens when I’m hot and bored…lol.

What did your week look like so far?  Come on by and share!  The drink below is a great way to cool down in this weather!

 

 

 

jUNE 8 - POMEGRANATE MARTINI

***

6 thoughts on “BOOKISH THURSDAY #20: SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS

  1. How frustrating to not have your tax refund yet. i hope that gets cleared up very soon. I love the picmonkey pics 🙂 Looks like a fun site that would be an entertaining place to spend some time. We’re in the middle of a kitchen renovation that seems to have stalled for the July 4th holiday (already). I’m relieved we don’t have an event that it needs to be finished in time for. In the meantime, our main floor furniture is crammed into 2 rooms while we wait for flooring, countertops, etc to be installed. That’s my week. Thank goodness for books that let me escape!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mary, and every day I check my online banking activity, hoping to find the refund…and it’s not there. I’ve never had such a thing happen before!

      I can relate to all the furniture crammed into other places…reminds me of when I had my carpets shampooed professionally. I put a lot of stuff in my garage, which is attached…but it was still a lot of work. Hope your renovation is finished soon, and when it is, you’ll love it, I’m sure.

      Enjoy your weekend…and thanks for visiting.

      Like

  2. A cartoon pic of one of your photos would be a fun way to have a very personal avatar, Laurel-Rain! *crosses fingers your granddaughter will get to it;) *

    Your quote alone sounds quite tense with the meal, and the fact that there will be a tragedy after makes it even more so…

    Have a wonderful weekend and happy reading. Stay cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Lexxie, I agree about the personal avatar…and I texted the photo and request to my granddaughter…and she’s on it.

      That family meal was very intense….and so much tragedy came afterwards. Thanks for hosting…and for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

