BOOKISH THURSDAY #13: SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS

bookish  thursdays

Welcome to Thursday, a day that once seemed lost, with nothing exciting happening anywhere.  But then that changed, and today I am celebrating some of the bookish events around the blogosphere, like Lexxie’s Thirsty Thursday & Hungry Hearts; Kimberlyfaye’s TBR Thursday; and Christine’s Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts.

Today’s featured TBR book has not been on my stacks that long.  Just since February 2016…but I am trying to clear things off sooner.  The Ramblers, by Aidan Donnelley Rowley, is a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

 

 

28114864

 

unConventionalBookViews_Meme-ThirstyThursdayHungryHearts-1-450x200

 

In our “foodie” excerpt today, one of our trio, Clio, sits alone at the hotel bar.

She traces her fingertip around the rim of her empty champagne flute and surveys the aftermath of the party.  The lobby and bar are littered with wineglasses and crumpled cocktail napkins, evidence of exuberance and good cheer.  Wooden skewers with clinging shreds of chicken satay are tucked here and there.  A crimson scarf has been left behind on a velvet chair.  Towers of plates wait to be whisked away.

***

Already I am sorry that I haven’t read this one yet.  I love a good party!

***

 

tbr-thursday

Since my TBR book has not been languishing very long, I suspect it will make it to my list soon…what do you think?  Here is the synopsis:

 

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York’s wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City—an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit. 

***

Moving on….let’s chat about some Bookish (and Not So Bookish) Thoughts:

 

picmonkey-collage-textured

  • I had a great and very restful weekend, binge-watching Amazon Videos and Netflix in my “newly created” spot in my bedroom.  Normally I watch in the living room via my Blu-Ray, but this was a nice change;

 

May 7 breakfast in bed with Netflix***

  • On Sunday, my daughter and her fiance took us up to the mountains for a brunch by the lake.  Here are Heather and her son Noah;

 

Heather & Noah - Mother's Day Brunch - Bass Lake***

  • I have read and LOVED three books so far this week, and I’m enjoying my fourth one.  Is the slump behind me?  Click titles for my reviews of What We Find, My Name is Lucy Barton, and The Children;
  • Today I am reading The Other Typist, by Suzanne Rindell, a haunting debut novel set against the background of New York City in the 1920s…
  • Speaking of Netflix earlier, I watched Season II of Grace & Frankie.  The trouble with binge-watching:  you have to wait FOREVER for the next season to be available, or so it seems.  The good news, however:  Season II of Bloodlines is coming on May 24th!
  • That’s it for my ramblings today….I hope you’ll stop by, chat, and leave your links.  Have a great weekend!

***

 

Married to Books with Friend

***

2 thoughts on “BOOKISH THURSDAY #13: SERENDIPITOUS MOMENTS

  1. What a great bunch of books in your week – I loved Lucy Barton and The Other Typist… well, let’s just say you’ll need a debrief over the ending when you get to it (I actually wrote a long, spoilery post about the ending of the book and still, to this day, it is my most read blog post – I think there’s nearly one hundred comments from readers sharing their thoughts on what happens at the end of the book!).

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

