REVIEW: MAYBE IN ANOTHER LIFE, BY TAYLOR JENKINS REID

24355995

 

 

Could each person live out different versions of his or her life in alternate universes?

This question is posited for the readers of Maybe in Another Life, and we watch this theory play out as Hannah Martin shows us that life can take different turns, with consequences following the choices made.

After living in various parts of the country, Hannah returns to LA where her best friend Gabby Hudson still lives. Gabby’s parents, Carl and Tina, have been like Hannah’s parents, too, since her own went to London with her sister Sarah when Hannah was in high school.

On a night when she first arrives back in LA, Hannah attends a party with Gabby…and reconnects with her high school boyfriend Ethan. At the end of the night, he asks her to stay with him…and Gabby invites her to go with her.

One version of Hannah leaves and another one stays. And in alternate chapters, we see how Hannah’s different “lives” play out.

The story was fun and it was easy to engage with each version of Hannah; I rooted for her, no matter which universe she inhabited. In the end, I liked how there were overlapping aspects in each incarnation, making it seem possible to imagine how other lives would unfold. 4 stars.

9 thoughts on “REVIEW: MAYBE IN ANOTHER LIFE, BY TAYLOR JENKINS REID

  1. I read this one earlier this year and enjoyed it a lot. I also liked the way that some things happened pretty much regardless of which road was travelled. I suspect that would be how this would play out in real life – if this were possible. I also liked the way each chapter alternated. I keep meaning to read another book by these authors.

    Like

    1. I have another book by the author on Pippa (After I Do), and I think I’ll read it soon. I also liked how some of the same things happened in both lives. I thought it might be confusing to stay in whichever world I was reading about, but it was a smooth transition.

      Thanks for visiting, Kay.

      Like

  2. Pingback: WEEKLY UPDATES: DISTRACTIONS…. | RAINY DAYS AND MONDAYS

  3. Karen Blue

    I think y9ur review really captured what made this book so special. I love that the ending was different in each timeline, that made it more believable for me.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Karen; this was my first book of the author’s, but I have another waiting which I’ll probably get to this week. I especially loved how the author brought out the alternate stories and made it all seem believable.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

