Weekly Updates

WEEKLY UPDATES: HALFWAY THROUGH NOVEMBER!

PicMonkey Collage-october weekly updates image

 

Good morning!  Today’s post will link up to Sunday Salon, The Sunday Post,  and Book Journey, for  Weekly Updates.

**Mailbox Monday is now hosted at the home site:  Mailbox Monday.

Good morning, Bloggers!  Grab some coffee (or a mimosa), and let’s talk about our weeks.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Another wonderful week has passed, and while nothing spectacular happened, any week in which I find one or two books that I thoroughly enjoy is a good one.  And there were some TV shows and movies that kept me engaged as well.

One of the movies I saw on TV that I especially enjoyed (On Demand) was a delightful one starring Shirley MacLaine and Christopher Plummer:   Elsa and Fred. 

What a lovely story of two aging people who fall in love.

So now, while I am still pondering the week, let’s chat:

 

LAST WEEK ON THE BLOGS:

Sunday Potpourri:  Late Edition

Tuesday Potpourri:  Intros/Teasers – “Into the Darkest Corner”

From the Interior:  A Constant Struggle – To Purge or Not to Purge

Hump Day Creativity:  Waiting for “Someone is Watching”

Guilty or Innocent? – Excerpted from “Interior Designs”

My Bookish (and Not So Bookish) Thoughts:  Tidbits from My Life

Serendipitous Friday:  Book Beginnings/Friday 56 – “The Twilight Hour”

Saturday Potpourri:  Spotlighting Family

Review:  The Last Letter from Your Lover (e-book), by Jojo Moyes

Review:  Into the Darkest Corner, by Elizabeth Haynes

Review:  The After Wife, by Gigi Levangie Grazer

 

***

INCOMING BOOKS: (Titles/Covers Linked to Amazon)

FOUR wonderful review books from Vine were in my mailbox this week!  And if that wasn’t riches enough, I downloaded four e-books for Sparky….

The Pocket Wife, by Susan Crawford (Vine)

 

 

22571021

 

A stylish psychological thriller with the compelling intrigue of The Silent Wife and Turn of Mind and the white-knuckle pacing of Before I Go to Sleep—in which a woman suffering from bipolar disorder cannot remember if she murdered her friend.

 

Finding Jake, by Bryan Reardon (Vine)

 

 

 

22535503

 

A heart-wrenching yet ultimately uplifting story of psychological suspense in which a parent is forced to confront what he does—and does not—know about his teenage son, in the vein of Reconstructing Amelia, Defending Jacob, and We Need to Talk about Kevin.

 

The Nightingale, by Kristin Hannah (Vine)

 

 

 

91ALAySZBtL._SL1500_

 

 

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author comes Kristin Hannah’s next novel. It is an epic love story and family drama set at the dawn of World War II.

 

Another Night, Another Day, by Sarah Rayner (Vine)

 

 

 

22213603

 

 

Three people, each crying out for help.There’s Karen, about to lose her father; Abby, whose son has autism and needs constant care, and Michael, a family man on the verge of bankruptcy. As each sinks under the strain, they’re brought together at Moreland’s Clinic.

 

Downloads:

 

The Woman Upstairs (e-book), by Claire Messud

 

 

17406638

 

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Emperor’s Children, a masterly new novel: the riveting confession of a woman awakened, transformed and betrayed by a desire for a world beyond her own.

 

All Good Deeds (e-book), by Stacy Green

 

 

91rXNkgqEzL._SL1500_

 

 

Lucy Kendall doesn’t believe she’s a serial killer. She simply eradicates the worst of society and brings justice to the innocent-the children she failed to protect during her decade in Child Protective Services.

A missing child sets off a chain of events linked to a suspect in a life-changing case in Lucy’s past. Her chosen path is terrifying-but the search for the missing child pulls her into web of evil and malice beyond her darkest imagination.

Lucy is jaded and desperate, but will her desperate race for justice prevent her from seeing the truth?

 

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry (e-book), by Gabrielle Zevin

 

 

 

81AU62N7HsL._SL1500_

 

A. J. Fikry, the irascible owner of Island Books, has recently endured some tough years: his wife has died, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and his prized possession–a rare edition of Poe poems–has been stolen. Over time, he has given up on people, and even the books in his store, instead of offering solace, are yet another reminder of a world that is changing too rapidly. Until a most unexpected occurrence gives him the chance to make his life over and see things anew.

 

 

Under a Silent Moon (e-book), by Elizabeth Haynes

 

 

911XITv8UxL._SL1500_

 

 

P. D. James meets E. L. James in Under a Silent Moon, this first novel in an exciting British crime series—a blend of literary suspense and page-turning thriller that introduces formidable Detective Chief Inspector Louisa Smith—from suspense talent Elizabeth Haynes, author of the bestselling Into the Darkest Corner.

 

 

 

***

WHAT’S UP NEXT? (Titles/Covers Linked to Amazon)

 

Currently Reading:  Nora Roberts Land (e-book), by Ava Miles

 

 

 

91UxRlZpifL._SL1500_

 

The Twilight Hour, by Nicci Gerrard

 

 

 

22852979

 

 

Leaving Time (e-book), by Jodi Picoult

 

 

91Icd8P256L._SL1500_

 

 

 

Florence Gordon (e-book), by Brian Morton

 

 

81rmR8Ff+sL._SL1500_

 

 

***

That’s my week of books, blogging, and movies.  What did your week look like?  What’s up next for you?

***

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

***

Advertisements

87 thoughts on “WEEKLY UPDATES: HALFWAY THROUGH NOVEMBER!”

  1. Wow! Lots of great books! The “Nora Roberts” book is intriguing. I wonder if I’ve read enough of her to appreciate what Available Miles has done. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I don’t know if the question is to purge or not to purge, but really what to purge. I say that as I look over at my bookshelves that aren’t as full as some folks’ shelves (say, yours 😉 ) but they’re still too full for me and I have other shelves in our office. Maybe this winter…as you say, it’s always procrastination.

    Like

    1. I have to be careful, once I start purging, as I can get quite ruthless. I do want to have some books left to give me that “ambience.” LOL

      Thanks for visiting, Bryan, and enjoy your winter…and your week.

      Like

  3. Glad you had a good bookish week. I tend to like being surrounded by books as well- especially favorites. If a book is just okay I can part with it, but if I enjoyed it then it’s nice to see it on the shelves. 🙂 I do have to let some go though whether they be donated or whatever.

    The Pocket Wife and Another Night, Another Day both look interesting.

    Like

    1. Finding that balance is the key for me, Greg, and I don’t want to part with old favorites, even if I should. But maybe now isn’t the time to ruthlessly purge…if and when I move someday, that might be a better time. Thanks for visiting, and I am looking forward to both The Pocket Wife and Another Night, Another Day. Enjoy your week.

      Like

    1. I was so happy to find a book at the beginning of a series…and the social worker aspect resonated with me. Thanks for sharing about All Good Deeds, Kimba.

      I am also looking forward to The Pocket Wife.

      Like

    1. I had almost forgotten about The Storied Life, which I had made a note of a few months ago…but then I saw it on a blog and had to download it. I am also excited about The Pocket Wife…thanks for stopping by, Emma.

      Like

  4. I am busy writing down all these great titles to look for: The Pocket Wife, Finding Jake, Another Night Another Day, All Good Deeds… you have some very good taste in books and I hope I get to read a few. Enjoy your week.

    Like

    1. I had gotten so many new books this week, which I had written down in my scribble, and when I first put up the post, I had inadvertently left off Under a Silent Moon! So, of course, I had to fix it.

      I need a bigger notebook so I can read what I’ve written….thanks for stopping by, Rita, and enjoy whatever books you decide on.

      Like

  5. I have Nora Roberts Land waiting to be reviewed for the longest of times. I really do need to get to it. It looks great. I haven’t heard of Elsa and Fred but that movie sounds like something I would like. Have a great week!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Yvonne…I am enjoying Nora Roberts Land…it is like a Nora Roberts novel, in fact, which is interesting, since the character wants to be living in a NR novel…LOL.

      I love anything with Shirley MacLaine, and Elsa and Fred was very sweet and delightful, IMO. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  6. I now have a number of Jojo Moyes books to read, that I got at my recent book fair, so when the time is right I will get reading them. I think I have a few of Jodi Piccoult’s books as well, I gave up reading her, but bloggers have whet my interest again in her books. I now have the Nightingale to read from NetGalley and I look forward to that one, although I will wait till a little nearer publication date.

    Like

  7. I keep seeing people read and love The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry. I don’t actually know that much about it, but the more I see it the more I’m intrigued. Hope it’s one you enjoy. Happy reading!

    Like

    1. I wasn’t sure about it at first, as it seems so similar (at least on the surface) to other books around. But here’s to it being that page turner! Thanks for visiting, Kathy, and enjoy your week.

      Like

  8. The Storied Life of AJ Fikry was so good, one of my favorites from this year. I just ordered a different Sarah Rayner book, I’m excited to check out her books. I’ve also read The Woman Upstairs, which was good, but not one I’d put on my best of 2014 list.

    Like

    1. I think I read another Kristin Hannah book that was both historical and contemporary….and enjoyed it. Looking forward to this one. Thanks for visiting, Nise, and that was my reaction to The Pocket Wife, too. And I’m definitely looking forward to A.J. Fikry.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s