HUMP DAY SERENDIPITY: WAITING FOR “FALLING INTO PLACE”

wow logo - timepieceWelcome to a special Hump Day Serendipity, dedicated to Waiting on Wednesday.  Click on over to Breaking the Spine to find all the upcoming releases shared today.

My eagerly anticipated new release is coming out on September 9, 2014:  Falling Into Place, by Amy Zhang.

20306804

I am very excited that I won’t have to wait until September.  It is coming to me this week from Amazon Vine.

Blurb:  One cold fall day, high school junior Liz Emerson steers her car into a tree. This haunting and heartbreaking story is told by a surprising and unexpected narrator and unfolds in nonlinear flashbacks even as Liz’s friends, foes, and family gather at the hospital and Liz clings to life. This riveting debut will appeal to fans of Before I Fall, by Lauren Oliver, and 13 Reasons Why, by Jay Asher.

“On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.” Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? The nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

***

I don’t often read YA books, but lately I’ve noticed my interest gravitating to SOME books in this genre.  This one sounds like one I’ll enjoy.

What are you waiting to receive?  Come on by and let’s chat.

***

26 thoughts on “HUMP DAY SERENDIPITY: WAITING FOR “FALLING INTO PLACE”

  1. I saw you mention this once before but didn’t read the blurb. Oh, I really want to read this one. I am particular about my YA reads, but if they are thought-provoking I’m in! Thanks for sharing this new to me title, and hope you love it.

    Like

  2. That’s great that you don’t have to “wait” too long for your featured book! I have been eager to check out this one, and the comparison to “Before I Fall” and Gayle Forman’s books reeled me in. Can’t wait to hear what you think of Falling Into Place.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

