SUNDAY UPDATES/MAILBOX MONDAY: MORE HEAT, SOME EYE ISSUES, ETC. — JULY 21

sunday salon logovectorstock_43821-1-1187

Good morning!  Today’s post will link up to Sunday Salon, The Sunday Post, and Mailbox Monday! (July will be Book Obsessed)

With another hot week behind me, I am staying inside a lot!  I’ve done some blogging and reading, but the reading has suffered due to an eye problem.  Nothing serious…a huge floater in my left eye that makes reading tedious.  The ophthalmologist gave me a good report…retina still intact.  Meanwhile, my new “companion” feels like a big, hairy spider!   Yikes.  Something like this?

images

Therefore, my blogging and reading took a back seat this week.

ON THE BLOGS:

Tuesday Sparks:  Intros/Teasers – Island Girls

Summer Reading – Redux (Booking Through Thursday)

A Little Chocolate on a Friday

Friday Potpourri:  Books, Books, and More Books

Sweet Saturday Sample:  A Budding Romance (An Excerpt)

Saturday Snapshot:  Berlin Artist

READING/REVIEWS (Click Titles for Reviews)

Sisterland, by Curtis Sittenfeld

Something About Sophie, by Mary Kay McComas

Always Watching (e-book), by Chevy Stevens

INCOMING BOOKS:

Nothing came in the mailbox this week, but I downloaded two books onto Sparky. 

The Wednesday Daughters (e-book), by Meg Waite Clayton

51RYg2-7KoL._AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-47,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Karen Joy Fowler, Meg Waite Clayton, bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters, returns with an enthralling new novel of mothers, daughters, and the secrets and dreams passed down through generations.

It is early evening when Hope Tantry arrives at the small cottage in England’s pastoral Lake District where her mother, Ally, spent the last years of her life. Ally—one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters—had used the cottage as a writer’s retreat while she worked on her unpublished biography of Beatrix Potter, yet Hope knows little about her mother’s time there. Traveling with Hope are friends Anna Page and Julie, first introduced as little girls in The Wednesday Sisters, now grown women grappling with issues of a different era. They’ve come to help Hope sort through her mother’s personal effects, yet what they find is a tangled family history—one steeped in Lake District lore.

Hope finds a stack of Ally’s old notebooks tucked away in a hidden drawer, all written in a mysterious code. As she, Julie, and Anna Page try to decipher Ally’s writings—the reason for their encryption, their possible connection to the Potter manuscript—they are forced to confront their own personal struggles: Hope’s doubts about her marriage, Julie’s grief over losing her twin sister, Anna Page’s fear of commitment in relationships. And as the real reason for Ally’s stay in England comes to light, Hope, Julie, and Anna Page reach a new understanding about the enduring bonds of family, the unwavering strength of love, and the inescapable pull of the past.

Second Chance Grill (e-book), by Christine Nolfi (.99 this weekend!)

81Igp3ZfGBL._SL1500_

Dr. Mary Chance needs a sabbatical from medicine to grieve the loss of her closest friend. But when she inherits a struggling restaurant in Liberty, Ohio she isn’t prepared for Blossom Perini. Mary can’t resist falling for the precocious preteen–or the girl’s father. The bond they forge will transform all their lives and set in motion an outpouring of love that spreads across America.

Welcome back to Liberty, where the women surrounding the town’s only restaurant are as charming as they are eccentric.
Second Chance Grill is the prequel to Treasure Me, 2012 Next Generation Indie Awards Finalist and book two of the Liberty Series.

***

And that is what my past and future weeks look like!  What about yours?  Come on by and share.

breakfast in bed

Advertisements

41 thoughts on “SUNDAY UPDATES/MAILBOX MONDAY: MORE HEAT, SOME EYE ISSUES, ETC. — JULY 21

    • Yes, I am starting to notice the eye a little bit less now…which is what the doctor said would happen. It’s not gone, just something my brain is training itself to ignore! lol

      Thanks for visiting, Jenea, and enjoy your week.

      Like

    • I would have been more freaked out if I hadn’t had one a few years ago…although this one is like a huge spider, so it did freak me out a little. But eventually it goes away, the doctor said; before that, I will probably learn to ignore it.

      Thanks, Lori, and enjoy your week.

      Like

  1. Oh, good luck with the floater! “big hairy spider” – ick 😦

    The Wednesday Daughters looks good; I should see if my library has it.

    Rest up and take care of your eye!

    Bea @Bea’s Book Nook

    Like

    • Thanks, Bea…it is definitely a creepy crawler floater…lol; but I am noticing it less and less. And I’m also looking forward to The Wednesday Daughters…hope you find it. Glad you could stop by.

      Like

  2. Pingback: MONDAY FROM THE INTERIOR: WHAT ARE YOU READING? — JULY 22 | AN INTERIOR JOURNEY

    • Oh, I know, Kimba….the first thing I did was get to the eye doctor, because, while floaters can be ordinary things that happen, there could be more going on. Which I was happy to find out was not the case. Thanks for stopping by. I, too, would not want to manage without my ability to read and blog!

      Like

  3. Isn’t the brain amazing that it can train itself not to notice the floater! I hope this week is easier for reading/blogging and that you continue to improve. Your books look good!

    Like

  4. I hope the floater is okay, I have had one for over a year that won’t go away but the eye doctor has found nothing wrong. It’s not bothering me too much, though. Good luck with yours.

    Second Chance Grill sounds good. Have a great week.

    Like

    • Thanks, Yvonne….I had a couple a few years ago, and then they were gone; I’m hoping this one will disappear soon. Or at least be less distracting. Thanks for stopping by. I think Second Chance Grill looks good, too.

      Like

    • I have been eager to read The Wednesday Daughters for awhile now…The Wednesday Sisters was one of my favorites.

      Thanks for visiting, Kathy; I am happy about the intact retina, too. Enjoy your week.

      Like

  5. I’m glad your retina’s intact, but sorry to hear about your floater. I’ve had a small one for years. You do learn to ignore it most of the time, but occasionally it will still attract your notice. I wish you luck, and hope you adjust to it soon so you can get back to reading! Your new books look enticing.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s