SERENDIPITOUS MONDAYS: MUSING ABOUT READING HABITS — JUNE 3

arch-framed for musings

Welcome to Musing Mondays, hosted by Should Be Reading.

Every Monday, we ponder various bookish topics:

Describe one of your reading habits. • Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s). • What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!  • Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it. • Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us! • Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

***

Today I’m going to chat about reading habits.  Before blogging, all I did was read and move on.

When I started seriously reviewing books and blogging about them, I decided I needed a blog where I could document my reading/reviewing journey.  So Curl up and Read was born.

cropped-cropped-picmonkey-collage-curlupand-read-again

At that time (October 2009), I had a huge TBR stack of books, just waiting to be read.  Around 166, to be precise.  I photographed the stacks and posted them on my About page.

I then started tracking books, creating a page for each year on that blog.  Recently, I’ve revised the pages to simplify things.  Bookshelves 2010 (Books Purchased, Read and Reviewed, Review Books), etc.  As I buy a book, I enter it on the appropriate page.  When I read and review it, I enter it and link to the review. (Same thing with review books).

My challenges also go on this blog, with the exception of the Cozies Challenge, which is on Chocolate & Mimosas (Guilty Pleasures blog).  But I do have an image link in the sidebar at Curl up and Read, taking you to Chocolate & Mimosas.

cropped-picmonkey-collage-newest-choc-resized1

Obsessive/Compulsive much?

That is what’s working for me…so far.

What are you musing about today?

14 thoughts on “SERENDIPITOUS MONDAYS: MUSING ABOUT READING HABITS — JUNE 3

    1. I think one reason I haven’t tracked my reading in notebooks is because of my horrific handwriting…lol. The more I write, the worse it gets. I often can’t even read it a day or more later. So I’m grateful for blogging and being able to track my reading there.

      Thanks for stopping by, Yvonne.

      Like

  1. i am less organized that you are when it comes to tracking my books… the only things i use are shelfari and goodreads and sometimes i’m too lazy to write a review haha!

    thanks for stopping by my blog

    Like

    1. I do like tracking my reviews on Goodreads and Amazon, too; I forgot to mention that. I actually started reviewing on those sites before I created the pages on my blog. Thanks for stopping by, Books Keep Me Sane.

      Like

    1. No worries…I had my first blog for a whole year before I realized how to connect with other bloggers! lol

      And then I started figuring out a few things. But I’m still learning. Thanks for visiting, Livvy.

      Like

  2. A system and an organization is what I need to develop now that I am new with reading / book blogging. 166 books? Wow!

    Thanks for stopping by my Musing Monday post.

    Like

  3. ladyambrosiaj

    I am not as sorted as you are about it. But I too started tracking better when I started blogging about the books I have read as well. 🙂

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

