TSS: COUNT-DOWN TO CHRISTMAS — NOV. 24

Welcome to our last Sunday Salon in November.

As we start our count-down to Christmas, we are also very much aware of the end of the year.  For bookish types, that means a number of things:  final books read count; challenges completed; thinking ahead to new challenges and new goals.

What are some of your Year End Activities and thoughts?

I’ve been noticing some bloggers who are hosting challenges for 2013, and while every year I promise not to sign up for too many, I couldn’t seem to curb the impulse to sign up for a couple already that sound good to me.

First, Cruisin’ Through the Cozies, hosted by Socrates Book Review Blogs.

Then I seemed compelled to add the Women’s Murder Club Challenge.  Hosted by Darlene’s Book Nook.

I have read a couple of those books already, but I’d like to read more.

On the Blogs:

TUESDAY POTPOURRI:  RAINY DAY READING & TEA

INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR ELIZABETH NELSON

PLEASURES GALORE:  BEADS & HO, HO, HO!

SWEET SATURDAY SAMPLE:  SECRETS

WEEKEND POTPOURRI:  BLACK FRIDAY, READING CHALLENGES, ETC.

And here’s a snapshot from my SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST.

Reading:  (Click Titles/Covers for Reviews)

1.  Firefly Summer, by Maeve Binchy (A 645 pager from my TBR Mountain)

2.  Amazing Grace, by Danielle Steel (Also from Mt. TBR)

3.  Slightly Cracked (e-book), by Susan Whitfield

And I’m currently reading For Keeps (e-book), by Aaron Paul Lazar.  There is a murder, a magical green marble, and secrets….

What are your Sunday plans?  Later I’m having a reunion lunch with colleagues I haven’t seen in awhile, in town for the holidays.  What a foodie week this has been!

23 thoughts on “TSS: COUNT-DOWN TO CHRISTMAS — NOV. 24

    • I am very lazy about Christmas…I do easy decorations and haven’t sent Christmas cards in awhile, except to family. I send the grandkids gift cards. Thanks for visiting, Kathy, and enjoy your preparations.

      Like

  1. Pingback: SUNDAY CHECK-IN: SURVIVING THE HOLIDAYS — NOV. 25 « CREATIVE JOURNEY

  2. Great blog! Thanks for letting us know about the reading challenges you’ve found. It’s tough being a self-published author, but it’s worth every second! Hope you’ll pop over to my blog, too and take a look at some of my posts. You might enjoy those as well as my books.

    Kind wishes and good luck,
    Amaya

    Like

  3. I tried listening to Amazing Grace on audio and couldn’t get into it. I have a feeling it’s better to read then to listen to this one. I may try again.

    Thank you for joining the cozy challenge. I’m not going to join as many challenges as in the past but I’m going to choose a handful that look like fun.

    Have a great week!

    Like

  4. I love Christmas decorations and love getting into the spirit…I just really hate doing the decorating! It looks so pretty and I just wish I could snap my fingers and it would all be done!

    I love all your book choices…you seem to always have a great assortment of books to read from!

    Have a great Sunday and thanks for visiting my blog!

    Like

    • You’re welcome, and thanks for visiting here, Lisa. I keep my Christmas decorations simple. The trees are artificial miniatures that are already decorated. I just bring them out and fluff them up. My Jim Shore objects don’t all come out every year. I just bring out the ones that fit in with the least disruption.

      Like

  5. My year-end bookish activities would be pretty much what you described in your opening paragraphs. I keep a list of books that I’ve read in my hard-copy journal so I need to do some kind of final recap or tally for that and start a new one for 2013. I also have a couple of challenges on my blog that I need to update and finalize.

    As for personal, my first holiday event of the year is visiting Castle Green in Pasadena, which will be decorated for the holidays. Looking forward to that on Sunday!

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Like

  6. I love that you participate in so many features. It’s part of blogging fun 🙂 I want to get my list ready for the 2013 challenges as I’m addicted to them. Found a few that are being announced early but a lot are waiting I think. Can’t wait until they’re all out so I can have my page full again.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

