WAITING ON WEDNESDAY: WIFE 22 — MARCH 28

Do you regularly wait for books long before they’re released?  Do you eagerly anticipate that book you’ve found on a reviewer’s site and hope that you can stand the anticipation?

Well, that’s what Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by Jill, at Breaking the Spine, does for us bloggers.  It gives us a special place to vent our excitement, our thrill, our anticipation.

So what ARE you waiting on this week?  I found a book that sounds like a gem, and I don’t have that long to wait.  It will be released on 5/29/12,

Wife 22, by Melanie Gideon, is an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life.

Synopsis on Amazon:  For fans of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary and Allison Pearson’s I Don’t Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life.

Maybe it was those extra five pounds I’d gained. Maybe it was because I was about to turn the same age my mother was when I lost her. Maybe it was because after almost twenty years of marriage my husband and I seemed to be running out of things to say to each other.
 
But when the anonymous online study called “Marriage in the 21st Century” showed up in my inbox, I had no idea how profoundly it would change my life. It wasn’t long before I was assigned both a pseudonym (Wife 22) and a caseworker (Researcher 101).
 
And, just like that, I found myself answering questions.
 
7. Sometimes I tell him he’s snoring when he’s not snoring so he’ll sleep in the guest room and I can have the bed all to myself.
61. Chet Baker on the tape player. He was cutting peppers for the salad. I looked at those hands and thought, I am going to have this man’s children.
67. To not want what you don’t have. What you can’t have. What you shouldn’t have.
32. That if we weren’t careful, it was possible to forget one another.
 
Before the study, my life was an endless blur of school lunches and doctor’s appointments, family dinners, budgets, and trying to discern the fastest-moving line at the grocery store. I was Alice Buckle: spouse of William and mother to Zoe and Peter, drama teacher and Facebook chatter, downloader of memories and Googler of solutions.
 
But these days, I’m also Wife 22. And somehow, my anonymous correspondence with Researcher 101 has taken an unexpectedly personal turn. Soon, I’ll have to make a decision—one that will affect my family, my marriage, my whole life. But at the moment, I’m too busy answering questions.
 
As it turns out, confession can be a very powerful aphrodisiac.

***

Doesn’t this one sound exciting?  Come on over and tell me about yours….

Advertisements

40 thoughts on “WAITING ON WEDNESDAY: WIFE 22 — MARCH 28

  1. Wow, this sounds really intriguing. This is an awesome pick, especially the fact that it’s for fans of Bridget Jones Diary (really enjoyed that). Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  2. This one does sound exciting. Very interesting and I like the anonymity of the character in the story talking to the researcher. I love snooping into character’s lives and this book sounds like it will let you do just that 😉

    Thanks for stopping by my Wow! Have a great week 🙂

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s