TSS: OCTOBER MOMENTS – OCT. 9

Grab Your Coffee Cup....

Good morning, and welcome to our second October Sunday Salon.  Last week, I reflected mostly on September achievements.  Today I’m looking ahead.

First of all, I love OctoberEven though my Central Valley (California) home doesn’t see much evidence of fall in the colors of the leaves, etc., that, too, will come.  Unfortunately, shortly thereafter we will see the misty tule fog that characterizes this area.

But enough of that.  Today I plan to celebrate those autumn events, beginning with some of the Halloween decorations that came out of the hall closet.

The ghost holding the pumpkin is a quirky addition selected by Noah, my eight-year-old grandson.

And now, let’s look back at this first week of October.

Some Blogging Events This Week:

Row 80 – Round Four Goals

Attitude Adjustment – An Excerpt

Thursday Potpourri

October Thoughts from the Interior

Books Read and Reviewed-Click Titles for Reviews:

1.  Buried Memories, by Irene Pence

2.  Girls in White Dresses, by Jennifer Close

3.  Watch Me Die, by Erica Spindler

4.  The Handmaid’s Tale (e-book), by Margaret Atwood

***

Wow, the last book was a reread that I started in August…and finally finished!  I’d been reading this one on and off throughout the other reads.  It was even more chilling than I recalled from my first read…probably because some of it seems entirely possible!

What book or books really grabbed you this week…or recently?

As for some of my other reads, I had also started To the Lighthouse, by Virginia Woolf…but I’ve set that one aside.  Maybe I’ll pick it up later, but for now, VW and I are parting ways.

Has anyone read this one?  What were your thoughts?

As for what I’m doing today…more reading.  Maybe this one:

I also have Margaret Atwood’s The Year of the Flood resting comfortably on Sparky, my Kindle.

Hmm, both of these seem dark…but that’s a trend I’ve been on….

18 thoughts on “TSS: OCTOBER MOMENTS – OCT. 9

  1. I’ve never read any Virginia Woolf. Of course I’ve been told by so many people that I need to, and I’ll get to it…eventually!
    And I’ve also always wanted to read The Handmaid’s Tale. I’ve heard phenomenal things about it!

    Like

    • Oh, I hope you read The Handmaid’s Tale! I’ve now read it twice (and I’ve seen the movie a few times!), so I’m very much into it.

      As for Woolf…I tried reading Mrs. Dalloway, too, as well as To the Lighthouse, so I’m not sure why I didn’t like them. But I’ve learned so far in life that there are lots of books I enjoy, so why waste time on those that don’t move me?

      Thanks for stopping by, Leighanne.

      Like

  2. I can’t believe it’s already October! Seems like just yesterday it was January! I read Mrs. Dalloway while I was in college, and I remember not liking it very much. That’s part of the reason why I haven’t tackled any Virginia Woolf since!

    This past week, I managed to finish William Shirer’s The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich and H.G. Wells’ The War of the Worlds. I’m hoping to begin Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged if my brother and sister are ready to begin so we can discuss it. In the meantime, I think I’m going to begin getting engaged with George R.R. Martin’s The Game of Thrones

    I hope you have a great week!

    Like

  3. I’m so bad about decorating for the seasons. I used to be better about it in pre-kid days, so maybe someday I’ll have my act together again. Love your October decor though!

    Like

  4. I actually listened to To the Lighthouse about a year ago. Strangely, it was easier for me to listen to a Woolf novel than to read it (I’ve done both). I think it might have something to do with the stream of consciousness style. I did like it, though I enjoyed Mrs. Dalloway more (especially when read in conjunction with The Hours by Michael Cunningham!). I’ve always meant to read something by Doris Lessing but haven’t gotten to it. And ooh, I listened to and LOVED The Year of the Flood! Enjoy!

    Like

    • Oh, thanks for stopping by, Erin, and maybe I’ll try listening to Woolf…I had thought I would love Mrs. Dalloway, because I really enjoyed The Hours (and all of Cunningham’s books, except Nightfall, not so much).

      I’m looking forward to The Year of the Flood….

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

