THE SUNDAY SALON — POST CHRISTMAS!

Good morning, and welcome to our Post-Christmas Sunday Salon, where we share tidbits about our week—blogging, reading, and our lives.

This week has been one filled with festivities, some of which included family moments such as these:

CHRISTMAS EVE GIFTS

CHRISTMAS MORNING

And then there was my surprising new gift! (from my daughter)

MY KINDLE!

So, of course, I had to play around with the Kindle yesterday, get it all set up, and then order books!

Blogging Events/Random Posts:

1) End-of-Year Quandary

2) Chasing Away Their Troubles – Excerpt

3) Holiday Moments

4) Saturday Snapshot

As for my reading, I couldn’t believe that I read more than my usual two or three books, especially during a holiday week!  But here is my list:

Books Read This Week-(Click Titles for Reviews):

1)  The Other Family, by Joanna Trollope

2)  Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas, by James Patterson

3)  My Lost Daughter, by Nancy Taylor Rosenberg

4)  Room for Love, by Andrea Meyer

 

And now to spotlight Books Read in 2010, click HERE.

I am sure there will be two or three additions to this list by the end of the week.

 

 

So how did your week go?  Lots of holiday moments?  Reading?  I hope you’ll stop by and share some tidbits.  And have a great day!

18 thoughts on “THE SUNDAY SALON — POST CHRISTMAS!

  1. Oh my I adore the the pictures! Tank you for sharing them. I am so pleased you are enjoying your Kindle. We received one and gave it to a friend whose son could use it as I am unable to read too much on any eReader. Enjoy your time with your family and your new Kindle.

    Like

    • Oh, I hope I don’t have any problems reading on it…I had been ambivalent about getting one, but was also drawn to the idea because my bookshelves are full and have taken over the house! LOL

      Thanks for stopping by, Jennifer; and as for the photos, I love snapping pix of grandkids, especially the younger ones who still agree to pose.

      Like

  2. Pingback: MONDAY MEMES: MAILBOX & WHAT ARE YOU READING? — DEC. 27 | Explorations, Reflections, and Meditations

    • Yes, she was definitely pleased at how surprised and excited I was, too, Julie. She was very clever about it; she hadn’t ever mentioned it.

      However, on the day before Christmas, she did seem to be asking a lot of questions about how much money I spend on books. I couldn’t figure that one out until later. A-ha, she was congratulating herself on saving me money, as the e-books will definitely cost less.

      Like

  3. I didn’t get much reading done this week and I probably won’t have a quiet moment to get a book started until after New Years. There are a number of them calling me from my bookshelf, though.

    I see that you open some gifts on Christmas Eve too! We have a heavy streak of German in both sides of our family so we have mixed their Christmas Eve traditions with the North American one of stockings and ‘gifts from Santa’ on Christmas Morning.

    A Kindle! You’ll have to let us know how the transition from book to e-reader goes. I’m curious about them, but not sure that I am ready . . .

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Trish. I don’t know that I was actually ready for the Kindle, but once I’d received it as a gift, I realized that I was very excited. A little worried, at first, because I always have a bit of angst about new technological things. Will I be able to navigate, or even set it up? It took me about an hour to set up the connectivity and to register on Amazon, mainly because I forgot passwords that I needed and had to set up new ones! But once I had gotten over that hurdle, I found the “buying of books” part very easy. Naturally…LOL.

      As for Christmas Eve, yes, that has been a family tradition since my childhood, started because of my Swedish grandmother. Then in adulthood, I married someone who was all about Christmas morning. So it wasn’t until the past few years, sharing the holiday with my daughter’s in-laws, that the Christmas Eve thing became a tradition again. I love it, actually.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Bella`s Wonderworld

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

