TSS: MOTHER’S DAY — MAY 13

Good morning, Sunday Saloners!  And for all the mothers out there:  Happy Mother’s Day!

I’m posting this early, as I plan to have brunch with my daughter and grandson this morning.

My grandson is sleeping over, so I’m going back to bed after I write this.

I started my celebrating yesterday by spending time with my youngest son and his wife…also including grandson Noah.

Here’s where I plan to have brunch later….

 

In the afternoon, I hope to see Dark Shadows.

 

I loved the show in the 1960s…and this Tim Burton rendition with Johnny Depp is sure to be a winner in my book.

Speaking of books....Let’s talk a bit about the blogging/reading week.  Not nearly as prolific as in previous weeks (either in reading or blogging), I did participate in the usual memes; then I wrote an excerpt about mothers and daughters at Snow Chronicles:  Special Moments-An Excerpt.

My Thursday Potpourri:  Tidbits, was a little about this and that.

I only finished TWO books this week!

1.  The World Without You, by Joshua Henkin – a four-star read for me!

2.  The Tender Bar (A Memoir), by J. R. Moehringer (Five stars!)

Last night, I started reading The Good Father, by Diane Chamberlain…and I might catch some reading of it later today.

What does your day look like?  I hope you’ll come on by and share some thoughts….

 

 

20 thoughts on “TSS: MOTHER’S DAY — MAY 13

    • Oh, I am having a good day, Nose in a Book. I didn’t actually go back to sleep like I planned…I’m downing the caffeine and hope that will get me through the day!

      Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy your day.

  1. I can’t wait to hear all about the movie!!! I am going to spend the day reading, normal Sunday, all the kids are working!! Enjoy your day!

  2. Happy Mother’s Day. I hope you enjoy The Good Father as much as I did. Sounds like you are having a full Mother’s Day weekend!! One of my sons is taking me to a Japanese Steak house later on and my other son has already called. It is hard when the kids live out of state :(. Thank you for stopping by!! Have a great week.

    • Hope you have a great day! My oldest son lives in Berlin….so it’s very difficult. We Skype sometimes.

      We’re excited that he’s planning to come home for a visit in November. Can’t wait!

      Thanks for stopping by, Cheryl.

    • I think this has been my most “fun” Mother’s Day weekend so far! I have one son who lives several hours away and another who lives in Berlin. I don’t see them that often on Mother’s Day. But I’ve spent time with the in-towners this weekend.

      Thanks for stopping by, Melissa, and enjoy your day and your week.

  3. Happy Mother’s Day! Dark Shadows looks like it could be quite interesting, and maybe even a bit fun! Can’t wait to hear what you think. I hope you have a great Mother’s Day!

  4. Only two books?!? I think you’re out of the club now. ;)

    If that were the case, seriously, I would have been out a long time ago. Luckily, it’s not all about quantity, but quality too.

    I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Dark Shadows.

    • Ha-ha…Yes, I was afraid I would be kicked out of the club…lol

      For whatever reason, I was distracted by many things this week, and the books were ones I had to ponder. They didn’t move quickly.

      Thanks for stopping by, Unfinished Person….have a great week.

    • Dark Shadows was a favorite way to spend the afternoons back in the day…my oldest child was a few months old, and he actually jumped up and down in his chair at the images playing on the screen. He seemed more excited by this show than cartoons…lol

      Now that son is a photographer and an edgy writer who laughs when he tells me that Dark Shadows “informed” his life.

      Thanks for stopping by, Yvonne…enjoy your week.

    • Yes, I guess I’m grateful for that, Melissa….I loved both of the books I did read, and one of them had been on my stacks for awhile.

      Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy your week.

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

